British Basketball announces 24-strong squad for training camp

British Basketball announces 24-strong squad for training camp
By Sportsbeat

21/07/2017 at 18:48Updated

British Basketball has announced a 24-strong preliminary squad for a Great Britain training camp as the team begins its build-up to FIBA EuroBasket 2017.

Following the training camp, which will begin in Manchester later this month, the team will be cut down to 12 ahead of the tournament starting on September 1st, when Great Britain will play Belgium in their opening clash.

Head coach Joe Prunty announced the roster, in which he has opted to select a wider squad offering a mix of youth and experience.

Ten players who helped Great Britain to qualification last year will rejoin the squad, while a handful of names will make their senior bow.

The team will play Greece on August 19th at London's Copper Box, as well as two preparation tournaments ahead of travelling to Istanbul for FIBA EuroBasket 2017 next month.

"Selecting the squad has become increasingly difficult each year," said Prunty.

"This is a testament to the players who have continually committed to the programme, but also reflects the talent that is emerging and the overall growth of basketball in the UK.

"It will be extremely competitive for the final 12 spots which should help prepare us for EuroBasket."

British Basketball Performance Director Mark Clark added: "I am pleased to see this National Team Squad, which has great experience mixed with exciting young talent.

"The culture of this group under the leadership of Coach Prunty gives confidence that we will perform in Turkey.

"We all know the challenges that face our sport are many and varied. All this national team is about and focused on, is playing for Great Britain and representing our sport in the toughest NT basketball competition there is."

Full squad: Kieron Achara, Fahro Alihodzic, Kavell Bigby-Williams, Eric Boateng, Chris Caird, Jesse Chuku, Dan Clark, Jules Dang Akodo, Ben Gordon, Myles Hesson, Kyle Johnson, Kofi Josephs, Jermel Kennedy, Sacha Killeya-Jones, Andrew Lawrence, Ben Mockford, Gareth Murray, Luke Nelson, Teddy Okereafor, Gabe Olaseni, Justin Sears, Ovie Soko, Conner Washington, Carl Wheatle

Sportsbeat 2017