The 28-year-old Irishman, Bennett set to replace Viviani at Deceuninck-Quick-Step at season's end, led Belgium's Edward Theuns in second and the Netherlands' Mike Teunissen in third.
The stage concluded with a bunch sprint in horrednous conditions, with Theuns leading the way, but he was caught by a great move around the outside by Bennett.
BinckBank Tour
De Plus takes BinckBank GC as Naesen wins final stage
18/08/2019 AT 14:47

Sam Bennett wins Stage 1 of the BinckBank Tour

Earlier in the race, Baptiste Planckaert took first place twice at the Super 8 Checkpoint Sprints, claiming the beige leader's jersey in the Checkpoint classification; and in the Golden Kilometre Lukasz Wisniowski took two first places and one second place in the triple intermediate sprint.

Result BinckBank Tour 2019, Stage 1: Beveren to Hulst (167.2km)

1. Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe, in 3-37-15
2. Edward Theuns (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
3. Mike Teunissen (Ned) Jumbo-Visa
4. Jasper Philipsen (Bel) UAE Team Emirates
5. Phil Bauhaaus (Ger) Bahrain-Merida
6. Timothy Dupont (Bel) Wanty-Gobert
7. Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Jumbo-Visma
8. Kristoffer Halvorsen (Nor) Team Ineos
9. Álvaro Hodeg (Col) Deceuninck – Quick-StepTop
10. Amaury Capiot (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise, all at same time

General classification after Stage 1

1. Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe, in 3-37-05
2. Lukasz Wiśniowski (Pol) CCC Team, at 2 seconds
3. Lars Bak (Den) Dimension Data, at 3s
4. Edward Teuns (Bel) Trek-Segafredo, at 4s
5. Mike Teunissen (Ned) Jumbo-Visma, at 6s
6. Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Wallonie-Bruxelles, at 7s
7. Jasper Philipsen (Bel) UAE Team Emirates, at 10s
8. Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Bahrain-Merida
9. Timothy Dupont (Bel) Wanty-Gobert
10. Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Jumbo-Visma, all at same time