Giro d'Italia 2017: Adam Yates lands white jersey, back in top 10

Yates lands white jersey, back in top 10
By Subaru

26/05/2017 at 10:57Updated 30/05/2017 at 15:46

A day after slipping back out of top 10, British climber Adam Yates ascends to ninth and takes youth classification jersey …

“We have two mountain stages to go and the time trial, where Bob (Jungels) is obviously much better than me. I need to make some more time in the next two days so we will see what happens.

“It was only the last climb that I suffered quite a bit but other than that I felt quite strong.”

Yates once again gave credit to his team-mates for supporting him through the stage, particularly Spaniard Rubén Plaza.

“Rubén is an animal,” he said. “He pretty much rode half a stage himself. If he is going as good as he was today, he can win a stage on his own.

“But it wasn’t just Rubén, the whole team did a good job today. As soon as I said I felt good on the second climb, we got on the front and started given it some welly.

“Hopefully we can do the same tomorrow and the day after and take it from there.”

“I’m up there,” Yates told VeloNews. “I lost quite a lot of time on the day I crashed. We’re losing bits of time here and there, but in general we’re in a good position so all good.”

Aaron S. Lee is a cycling correspondent for Eurosport, and contributor to VeloNews, Cyclist Magazine and 220 Triathlon …

Stage 18 results – Moena to Ortisei/St. Urlich (137km)

1. Tejay van Garderen, USA, BMC Racing, 3:54:04

2. Mikel Landa, ESP, Team Sky, s.t.

3. Thibaut Pinot FRA, FDJ, +0:08

12. Adam Yates, GBR, Orica-Scott, +1:12

General Classification (previous)

1 (1). Tom Dumoulin, NED, Sunweb, 80:00:48

2 (2). Nairo Quintana, COL, Movistar, +0:31

3 (3). Vincenzo Nibali, +1:12

4 (4). Thibaut Pinot FRA, FDJ, +1:36

9 (11). Adam Yates, GBR, Orica-Scott, +7:06

98 (97). Adam Hansen, AUS, Lotto Soudal, +3:03:10

120 (122). Rory Sutherland, AUS, Movistar, +3:24:54

123 (125). Michael Hepburn, AUS, Orica-Scott, +3:28:03

DNS — Alex Edmondson, AUS, Orica-Scott (Stage 16)

DNF — Caleb Ewan, AUS, Orica-Scott (Stage 15)

DNF — Nathan Haas, AUS, Dimension Data (Stage 11)

DNF — Rohan Dennis, AUS, BMC Racing (Stage 4)