Soren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb) stopped the clock at 18:51 - some six seconds faster than Schachmann - to claim a first professional time trial win of his career and move up to second in the GC, some 58 seconds in arrears of the Bora-Hansgrohe rider.

Tour de France
Two in custody as police launch Arkea-Samsic doping investigation

The German champion is now firmly in control of the 78th edition of the Race to the Sun, with Vincenzo Nibali (Trek–Segafredo) in arrears to the tune of 01:18, Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck–Quick-Step) at 02:04 and Nairo Quintana (Arkéa–Samsic) a further 34 seconds back at 02:34.

"I'm super happy. To be honest, it's a big relief and it finally came my first TT victory. so I am really happy," said Kragh Andersen after the race.

"It is super. I almost can't believe it, but I was really aiming for it - and I did my best and my legs were good, so I am really happy."

'I almost can't believe it' - Andersen reacts to win

Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck-Quickstep), fresh from winning Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne a little over a week ago, made up the podium after finishing with a time of 19:03.


  • 1 Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb 00:18:51
  • 2 Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe 00:00:06
  • 3 Kasper Asgreen (Den) Deceuninck-Quickstep 00:00:12
  • 4 Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal 00:00:13
  • 5 Pello Bilbao (Spa) Bahrain McLaren 00:00:15
  • 6 Victor Campenaerts (Bel) NTT Pro Cycling 00:00:17
  • 7 Michael Matthews (Aus) Team Sunweb 00:00:18
  • 8 Stefan Küng (Swi) Groupama-FDJ 00:00:26
  • 9 Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Groupama-FDJ 00:00:27


  • 1 Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe 13:30:58
  • 2 Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb 00:00:58
  • 3 Felix Grossschartner (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 00:01:01
  • 4 Nils Politt (Ger) Israel Start-Up Nation 00:01:05
  • 5 Sergio Andres Higuita Garcia (Col) EF Pro Cycling 00:01:06
  • 6 Dylan Teuns (Bel) Bahrain McLaren 00:01:10
  • 7 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Team Sunweb 00:01:11
  • 8 Mads Schmidt Würtz (Den) Israel Start-Up Nation
  • 9 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) NTT Pro Cycling 00:01:15
  • 10 Michael Matthews (Aus) Team Sunweb 00:01
Tour de France
How Ireland's sprint sensation Bennett ended Sagan's green jersey dominance
Tour de France
Kragh Andersen wins again on Stage 19, Bennett takes giant step towards green
18/09/2020 AT 15:26