The Polish rider, who appears in great form four days before the first Monument (top classic) of the season, Saturday's Milan-San Remo, beat Italian Damiano Cruso of BMC Racing by 24 seconds.

His Sky team-mate Geraint Thomas of Britain ended up third overall, 32 seconds off the pace.

Tirreno - Adriatico
Blazin' Saddles: 5 talking points from Tirreno-Adriatico
14/03/2018 AT 10:43

Kwiatkowski celebrates victory at Tirreno-Adriatico

Australian Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing) was the fastest on the 10-km course around San Benedetto Del Tronto as he set off in dry conditions, unlike the top favourites, to clock 11 minutes 14 seconds.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2018, Stage 7, 10km ITT

1. Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing) 11m14s

2. Jos van Emden (LottoNL-Jumbo) 4s

3. Jonathan Castroviejo (Team Sky) 8s

4. Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) 8s

5. Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) 12s

6. Michael Hepburn (Mitchelton-Scott) 13s

7. Jack Bauer (Mitchelton-Scott) 13s

8. Luke Durbridge (Mitchelton-Scott) 17s

9. Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo) 18s

10. Vasil Kiryienka (Team Sky) 18s

Final general classification

1. Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) 25h32m56s

2. Damiano Caruso (BMC Racing) 24s

3. Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) 32s

4. Tiesj Benoot (Lotto-Soudal) 1m06s

5. Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) 1m10s

6. Mikel Landa (Movistar) 1m13s

7. Davide Formolo (Bora-Hansgrohe) 1m15s

8. Jaime Roson (Movistar) 1m15s

9. George Bennett (LottoNL-Jumbo) 1m16s

10. Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First-Drapac) 1m22s

Tirreno - Adriatico
Dennis thrilled with time trial victory
13/03/2018 AT 17:01
Tirreno - Adriatico
Kwiatkowski celebrates victory at Tirreno-Adriatico
13/03/2018 AT 15:44