Adam Yates enjoys overall lead at Tirreno-Adriatico as Alaphilippe claims win

Adam Yates enjoys overall lead at Tirreno-Adriatico as Alaphilippe claims win
By Eurosport

14/03/2019 at 18:13Updated 14/03/2019 at 20:53

Adam Yates moved into overall lead at Tirreno-Adriatico after France's Julian Alaphlippe claimed the sprint victory on stage two of the Italian race.

“Everything was going my way, perfect. I pushed myself full gas to the line," said Deceuninck-Quick-Step rider Alaphilippe after the 195km stage from Camaiore to Pomarance.

"Yesterday we lost a lot of time. So I tried to win a stage and today was a good opportunity. I pushed myself to the limit to win. I surprise myself day after day."

Greg Van Avermaet (CCC) was second with EF Education First’s Alberto Bettiol third.

Video - 'What a fantastic performance!' - Alaphilippe storms to Stage 2 victory


Adam Yates moved into fifth place after Mitchelton-Scott's victory in the time trial on Wednesday's stage 1, but it was enough to take the blue jersey in GC.

“Not sure how long I’ll hold onto (the lead), but we’ll try our best and see how it goes,” said Yates. “This finish didn’t suit me, it’s more for the punchy guys like Van Avermaet, but I’m happy with my position.

“After yesterday’s big ride in the TTT, it was another hard stage today, a different kind of stage but I’m happy with my position, happy with my condition.

“Tomorrow’s a sprint stage then we have a few punchy, tricky stages and like I said yesterday, there’s no real hard, long mountain stage, a lot of hard short stages, so we’ll see how the legs are and take it from there.”

Video - Alaphilippe reflects on 'perfect' job from his team


Results from Stage 2, Tirreno-Adriatico on Thursday.

Stage winners

  • 1. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) Deceuninck - Quick-Step 4:48:09
  • 2. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) CCC Team "
  • 3. Alberto Bettiol (ITA) EF Education First "
  • 4. Tiesj Benoot (BEL) Lotto - Soudal "
  • 5. Adam Yates (GBR) Mitchelton - Scott "
  • 6. Valerio Conti (ITA) UAE Team Emirates "
  • 7. Primož Roglic (SLO) Team Jumbo - Visma "
  • 8. Wout Poels (NED) Team Sky "
  • 9. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN) Astana Pro Team "
  • 10. Tim Wellens (BEL) Lotto - Soudal "

Overall leaders

  • 1. Adam Yates (GBR) Mitchelton - Scott 5:10:34
  • 2. Brent Bookwalter (USA) Mitchelton - Scott "
  • 3. Primož Roglic (SLO) Team Jumbo - Visma +7