Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) edged out Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-QuickStep) to win the final stage of the UAE Tour.
The Australian skipped by Bennett in the final sprint to deny him a third stage win just before the finish line, recording a time of 3:18:29.
Ewan said post-race: "We came here to win a stage. My last few stages were quite average. There was a bit of pressure on me to have a good result today and the team went above and beyond.
World Championships
Rider ratings: Five-star Van Aert hoping for no rogue Evenepoel
23/09/2022 AT 13:49
They did such a great job. I got to the end there in good shape and it allowed me to do a good sprint in the end.

‘He loves it’ –Ewan powers past Bennett to take Stage 7 win

Tadej Pogacar, who was given a 10-second penalty heading into the final stage for pushing another rider, took overall victory with a time of 24h 00' 28" after neutralising Adam Yates and Ineos Grenadiers amid the crosswinds.
As the final 40km approached, Yates - in his first race for his new team - was brought down in a crash in the peloton.

‘He has taken a face plant’ – Adam Yates crashes at UAE Tour

The defending champion landed face-first on the road alongside a number of his Ineos Grenadiers team-mates, but did get back on his bike and raced on.

Highlights: Caleb Ewan takes final stage as Tadej Pogacar wins overall title



1. Caleb Ewan (AUS) Lotto - Soudal 3:18:29
2. Sam Bennett (IRL) Deceuninck - Quick-Step "
3. Phil Bauhaus (GER) Bahrain Victorious "
4. Michael Mørkøv (DEN) Deceuninck - Quick-Step "
5. Cees Bol (NED) Team DSM "
6. André Greipel (GER) Israel Start-Up Nation "
7. Andrea Vendrame (ITA) AG2R - Citroën Team "
8. Luka Mezgec (SLO) Team BikeExchange "
9. Riccardo Minali (ITA) Intermarché - Wanty - "
10. Yevgeniy Gidich (KAZ) Astana - Premier Tech "


1. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) UAE Team Emirates 24:00:28
2. Adam Yates (GBR) INEOS Grenadiers +35
3. João Almeida (POR) Deceuninck - Quick-Step +1:02
4. Chris Harper (AUS) Jumbo - Visma +1:42
5. Neilson Powless (USA) EF Education - Nippo +1:45
6. Mattias Skjelmose (DEN) Trek - Segafredo +2:37
7. Damiano Caruso (ITA) Bahrain Victorious +2:39
8. Mattia Cattaneo (ITA) Deceuninck - Quick-Step +3:53
9. Rubén Fernández (ESP) Cofidis +4:13
10. Fausto Masnada (ITA) Deceuninck - Quick-Step +6:30
World Championships
Pogacar: Dropping Van Aert or Van der Poel in road race will be 'impossible'
21/09/2022 AT 13:05
World Championships
Rider ratings: Five-star Evenepoel leads Ganna in time trial field
16/09/2022 AT 15:28