Vuelta a España

2018 champion Yates out of Mitchelton-SCOTT squad for Vuelta

Share this with
Share this article

Simon Yates - Vuelta 2018

Image credit: Getty Images

ByAlexander Netherton
16/08/2019 at 11:29 | Updated 16/08/2019 at 12:44

Reigning Vuelta a Espana rider Simon Yates will not defend his Tour crown after he was left out of Mitchelton-SCOTT's eight-man team for the competition.

Instead the focus is on Estaban Chaves, who claimed third place in 2016, Mikel Nieve (who won stage 16 in 2010) and Luka Mezgec (double stage winner at this year's Tour de Pologne).

New Zealand rider Dion Smith is included for his Vuelta debut.

Giro d'Italia

Simon Yates named as Giro d’Italia leader for Mitchelton-Scott, twin Adam races Tour de France

15/07/2020 AT 10:12

Watch the Vuelta live on Eurosport and the Eurosport Player

There are also places for Ethiopian time trial championTsgabu Grmay, as well as New Zealand's Sam Bewley and Australian climber Damien Howson. The antipodeans were teammates in Chaves' 2016 campaign. Australian Nick Schultz is also part of the team.

Fellow Australian Nick Schultz will make his third appearance in the Spanish tour whilst New Zealander Dion Smith makes his debut and adds speed to the ‘exciting’ team line-up.

Mitchelton-SCOTT enjoyed success in 2018's event when Yates won the team's first Grand Tour.


Cool and collected, Simon Yates puts Olympic dream on backburner as focus shifts to Autumn Tours

05/06/2020 AT 08:20
Il Lombardia

Roglic, Bernal, Chaves, Woods, Yates - Eurosport's experts pick their favourites for Il Lombardia

11/10/2019 AT 14:23
Related Topics
CyclingVuelta a EspañaMitchelton-ScottRenaud DionMore
Share this with
Share this article