The election took place after Didier Gailhaguet resigned the post in the wake of sexual harassment and rape scandals that shook French ice skating.

Gailhaguet resigned five weeks ago after several figure skaters alleged they were raped or sexually assaulted when they were minors by former coaches.

Figure Skating
Kagiyama enjoys perfect Grand Prix debut
29/11/2020 AT 12:51

Pechalat, twice a world championships bronze medallist with dance partner Fabian Bourzat in 2012 and 2014, was elected with 504 votes while 154 votes were blank.

On Friday, Damien Boyer-Gibaud, Michel-Ange Marie-Calixte and Gilles Jouanny said they were pulling out of the race because of coronavirus fears.

In a joint statement, they said that 160 club presidents had been called on to attend a general assembly ahead of the vote while France had banned gatherings of more than 100 in a bid to contain the spread of the coronavirus, which as of Friday had infected 3,661 people and killed 79 in the country. (Reporting by Julien Pretot; Editing by Clare Fallon)

Figure Skating
Sakamoto takes the spoils in figure skating’s NHK Trophy
28/11/2020 AT 13:10
NHK Trophy
Kagiyama leads the way after day one of NHK Trophy action in Osaka
27/11/2020 AT 17:40