England to face Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro and Kosovo in Euro 2020 qualifying

England to face Czech Republic and Kosovo in Euro 2020 qualifying
By Eurosport

02/12/2018 at 11:48Updated 02/12/2018 at 13:36

England have been drawn into Group A of qualification for Euro 2020 along with Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro and Kosovo.

The draw took place on Sunday in Dublin and as one of the UEFA Nations League finalists England were put into a group of just five teams.

Gareth Southgate's side will face Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro and Kosovo, the first time they have faced the latter.

The top two teams from each group qualify automatically. Unlike previous tournaments, the playoffs to decide the four other spots will be contested between the most successful teams from the four divisions of the Nations League who have not already qualified.

The new format offers a potential back door for any top side that struggles in qualifying, while also handing the leading minnows from the lowest division -- Kosovo, Georgia, Belarus and Macedonia -- a crack at the last qualification place.

The finals will take place in 12 different cities stretching from Bilbao in Spain to Baku in Azerbaijan. For the first time in the competition's history, the tournament will be hosted by more than two countries to mark its 60th anniversary.

No team will qualify automatically as hosts, although every host country that qualifies will be guaranteed two home games in the group phase. The Euro 2020 final will be held at London's Wembley Stadium.

Qualification will begin in March 2019 and end in November of the same year.

Elsewhere in Group C Germany will face the Netherlands and Northern Ireland and in Group H world champions France will play Iceland.

Euro 2020 Qualification draw in full

Group A

England, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Kosovo

Group B

Portugal, Ukraine, Serbia, Lithuania, Luxembourg

Group C

Netherlands, Germany, Northern Ireland, Estonia, Belarus

Group D

Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Gibraltar

Group E

Croatia, Wales, Slovakia, Hungary, Azerbaijan,

Group F

Spain, Sweden, Norway, Romania, Faroe Islands, Malta

Group G

Poland, Austria, Israel, Slovenia, FYR Macedonia, Latvia

Group H

France, Iceland, Turkey, Albania, Moldova, Andorra

Group I

Belgium, Russia, Scotland, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, San Marino

Group J

Italy, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, Greece, Armenia, Liechtenstein