Euro 2016: Qualified teams, play-off seedings, format, draw

Euro 2016: Who has qualified? Who is in the play-offs?

14/10/2015 at 09:24Updated 14/10/2015 at 09:33

After the end of the Euro 2016 qualifying group stage, 20 teams have made it to France with four more to be decided in the play-offs.

Who’s qualified?

The top two teams from every qualifying group, plus top-ranked third place team Turkey and hosts France.

  • Group A: Czech Republic, Iceland, Turkey
  • Group B: Belgium, Wales
  • Group C: Spain, Slovakia
  • Group D: Germany, Poland
  • Group E: England, Switzerland
  • Group F: Northern Ireland, Romania
  • Group G: Austria, Russia
  • Group H: Italy, Croatia
  • Group I: Portugal, Albania


The remaining eight third-placed teams go into a two-legged play-off, with the four winners progressing to the Euro 2016 finals next summer.

The teams are seeded based on their UEFA National Ranking 2015. Each seeded nation will be drawn against an unseeded side.


Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Sweden, Hungary


Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Norway, Slovenia

Tie format

Two-legged knockout, with seeds playing the second leg at home. Away goals rule applies after second leg normal and extra time – if teams are still level it goes to penalties.

When is the draw?

Sunday 18 October at 10:20 am

Where can I watch the draw?

When are the matches?

First legs to be played between 12 and 14 November.

Second legs to be played between 15 and 17 November.