Sweden win European U21 Championship on penalties

Sweden win European U21 Championship on penalties
By Eurosport

30/06/2015 at 23:34Updated 01/07/2015 at 00:26

Under-21 European Championship, Eden Arena - Sweden 0 Portugal 0 (Sweden win 4-3 on penalties)

Goalkeeper Patrik Carlgren was the hero as Sweden beat Portugal on penalties 4-3 to claim the European U21 Championship.

Portugal were the most impressive of the two sides in the first half, and went closest to an opening goal.

Sergio Oliveira lifted a free-kick over the wall from 25 yards, but it crashed against the crossbar. Just after kick-off, Raphael Guerreiro sent a shot from outside the box just wide of the left-hand post.

But Sweden also had chances, with Oscar Lewicki hitting the target with a long-range shot and Isaac Thelin heading straight at Jose Sa at the back post.

In the second half, Portugal grew increasingly strong, but the first chance came to John Guidetti who volleyed just over the bar. Portugal’s Iuri Medeiros then curled a shot just wide of the post and Toze's fiercely struck shot brought a good save from Carlgren.

However, neither team could make a breakthrough and the game went to extra-time. Abdul Khalili had the two best chances, curling shots wide of the top corner before the game went to penalties, where Carvalho's spot-kick gifted Sweden victory.


2' - GUERREIRO SHOT - Cavaleiro's cross from the right is deflected over the crossbar for a corner. It's taken short, and Guerreiro whips in another cross. It comes out to Ricardo, whose left-footed shot skims the side-netting.

7' - SERGIO FREE KICK - Portugal win a free kick to the left of the D, 25 yards out. Sergio stands over the ball and lifts the ball over the wall and against the top half of the crossbar.

12' - THELIN STINKS - A cross from the right to the back post is met by Thelin, running away from goal, but he can only get his header straight at Sa, and it's easily saved.

14' - MARIO MISS - Mario receives the ball just inside the box, and with his only touch he attempts to curl a shot to the top corner, but it's well over.

25' - LEWICKI SHOT - Lewicki receives a pass in midfield, turns towards goal and sees he has space for a shot. He catches it well, but it doesn't trouble Sa, who catches easily.

52' - GUIDETTI SHOT - Thelin causes difficulty in the box, leading to the ball coming out to Guidetti on the edge of the area, and he hooks a volley inches over the crossbar.

63' - TOZE SHOT - Toze drives a shot from just outside the box, whipped in hard and low, and Carlgren leaps to his right to save.

64 - MEDEIROS SHOT - Carvalho finds Medeiros on the right wing, he cuts onto his left, and curls a shot just wide of the far post.

86' - SA SAVE - Thelin holds the ball up, and Guidetti takes over, and bursts a few yards forward, and can only send his shot against Sa.

93' - KHALILI SHOT - Khalili runs onto a ball down the left and curls a shot with his right foot just wide of the far post.

PORTUGAL FIFTH PENALTY - MISS! Sweden 4 - 3 Portugal. Carvalho scores - his slow run up ends with a shot low and slow down the middle, and Carlgren saves easily. That's Sweden's first victory in the European U-21 Championships, and fully deserved.


Harry Kane had the most shots of any player in the tournament, with seventeen.

Portugal were undefeated in 15 competitive games until tonight.

This is Sweden's first European Championship victory.

Sweden had never won a penalty shootout in this tournament.


Portugal wasted their superior talent. They dominated possession and had the technique to open up their opponents, but moved the ball too slowly to do so regularly enough. They were reduced to long shots, and appeared to be complacent in extra time, or perhaps were not fit enough.


Patrik Carlgren (Sweden): It's obvious to give the award to a goalkeeper after a penalty shootout, but he also deserves to be recognised for his consistency from the first whistle and throughout the 90 minutes and extra time, where Portugal were unable to find a way past him.


Sweden: Carlgren 7, Lindelof 6, Milosevic 6, Helander 6, Augustinsson 6, Khalili 7, Lewicki 6, Hiljemark 6, Tibbling 6, Thelin 6, Guidetti 6. Subs: Baffo 6, Quaison 6.

Portugal: Sa 6, Esgaio 6, Ilori 6, P Oliveira 6, Guerreiro 6, Mario 6, William Carvalho 6, Sergio 6, Bernado Silva 6, Ricardo 5, Cavaleiro 5. Sub: Toze 6, Medeiros 7, Paciencia 6.