July 11
World Cup
1966 - On July 11 1966, Alf Ramsey's England got their campaign off to a disappointing start with a 0-0 draw against Uruguay in front of 87,000 at Wembley. England, however, went on to top Group A before defeating Argentina, Portugal and West Germany to win the World Cup for the first and, thus far, only time.
World Cup History
On this day: Dutch miss out
08/07/2010 AT 13:07
1982 - Paolo Rossi was the star of the 1982 World Cup in Spain, the Italian smashing five goals on the way to the final before netting Italy's first, his sixth, against West Germany at the Bernabeu on July 11. Marco Tardelli and Alessandro Altobelli then scored to seal the deal, with Paul Breitner only able net an 83rd minute consolation for West Germany.
1998 - On the night of July 11, Ronaldo, who had scored four goals en-route to the final, suffered a convulsion with Brazil due to play hosts France the next day. Ronaldo was initially removed from the squad but was later re-instated and went on to start. The star, clearly far from his best, was unable to make an impact and Brazil lost the final 3-0. However, Ronaldo was awarded the Golden Ball for being the best player of the tournament. Croatia's Davor Suker scored six to win the Golden Shoe.
Also on this day
1914 - Babe Ruth, playing for the Boston Red Sox, made his debut in Major League Baseball.
1979 - The United States' first space station, Skylab, is destroyed as it re-enters the Earth's atmosphere, scattering debris across the Indian Ocean and Western Australia.
1995 - The United States announced it was to re-establish diplomatic relations with Vietnam.
2006 - 209 people are killed in a series of train bombings in Mumbai, India.
World Cup History
On this day: Zidane's head-butt
09/07/2010 AT 08:08
World Cup History
On this day: World Cup legends
29/06/2010 AT 11:47