Getty Images

Fabian Delph returns for England, Dele Alli included despite possible ban

Delph returns for England, Alli included despite possible ban

28/09/2017 at 15:08Updated 28/09/2017 at 15:39

Fabian Delph returns to the England setup for the World Cup qualifiers against Slovenia and Lithuania.

The Manchester City midfielder has not featured for his country since 2015, but earns a recall into Gareth Southgate’s 26-man squad.

Dele Alli is also included, even though a possible FIFA ban looms after he was caught making a middle-finger gesture during the recent win over Slovakia.

FIFA’s verdict is expected later on Thursday.

"We run the risk of looking a shambles as he could get withdrawn again in half an hour… We hope common sense prevails," said Southgate, who said England would consider appealing any suspension.

"We have given our side of events, Dele has given his, we have to see what happens next."

Alli insists he made the gesture towards team-mate Kyle Walker, and not the referee or an opponent.

Leicester City forward Jamie Vardy misses out to protect a hip complaint, with the 30-year-old set to play against Bournemouth on Saturday before having an injection.

England face Slovenia at Wembley Stadium on October 5 before travelling to Vilnius to meet Lithuania three days later.

England squad

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Fraser Forster (Southampton), Jack Butland (Stoke), Joe Hart (West Ham).

Defenders: Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Aaron Cresswell (West Ham), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Michael Keane (Everton), Harry Maguire (Leicester), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Jake Livermore (West Brom), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City).

Forwards: Jermain Defoe (Bournemouth), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool).