Huge VAR controversy as France score World Cup final penalty
When FIFA introduced VAR for the 2018 World Cup, everyone knew it would come into play in controversial fashion.
The group stage was littered with VAR-assisted decisions - many of them correct, a few not so much (Cristiano Ronaldo and the missing red card, for example).
VAR seemed to disappear in the knockouts in Russia 2018 but it returned with a vengeance in the final as France played Croatia.
At 1-1 in the first half, a cross from France struck the arm of Ivan Perisic, entirely accidentally given he had no time to react when the ball flicked off the head of a France player.
But shockingly, after much deliberation, the penalty was given by referee Nestor Pitana.
People weren't very happy.