The 2022 Qatar World Cup has provided its fair share of thrills, with a number of major shocks landing early on including group stage exits for Belgium and Germany as well as Saudi Arabia's unlikely win over Argentina.
However, fans have also had to sit through a higher number of goalless draws than usual.
Four years ago in Russia, it took until the third round of group games for a game to finish without a goal; France’s 0-0 draw with Denmark. That was the only bore draw of the entire tournament.
World Cup
‘Kids are watching!’ – Cole slams Cavani after furious forward punches over VAR monitor
In Qatar, there were four goalless games before even the first round of group games were over.
The 2022 edition has already set one record; eight teams have drawn their opening game 0-0 in the same World Cup for the first time ever.
Then England played out a rather dull goalless draw against the USA on the first day of the second round of group games and Belgium crashed out of the tournament in the final round of matches as they were involved in a stalemate with Croatia.
So, is the 2022 tournament on course to break the overall record for bore draws?

What is the current record?

The record number of 0-0 draws at a World Cup is seven, shared by four different editions of the tournament.
That tally was reached in 1982, 2006, 2010 and 2014.
In Qatar, there have been six goalless draws so far: Mexico 0-0 Poland, Denmark 0-0 Tunisia, Croatia 0-0 Morocco, South Korea 0-0 Uruguay, England 0-0 USA and Croatia 0-0 Belgium.
With the knockout stages still to come, there’s every likelihood that the Qatar World Cup will break that record.
When the goal fests have arrived, though, they’ve arrived in style.
We’ve already seen Spain thrash Costa Rica 7-0, England hammer Iran 6-2 and France earn a big 4-1 victory over Australia.
Croatia, who have been involved in two of the 0-0s, racked up a huge 4-1 over Canada while Cameroon and Serbia played out a thrilling 3-3 draw in one of the games of the tournament so far.

Tally of goalless draws at the World Cup

  • Seven: 1982, 2006, 2010, 2014
  • Six: 1978, 2022*
  • Five: 1974, 1990
  • Four: 1986, 1998
  • Three: 1966, 1970, 1994, 2002
  • Two: 1958, 1962
  • One: 2018
  • None: 1930, 1934, 1938, 1950, 1954
*World Cup 2022 is ongoing
World Cup
Uruguay should have been awarded crucial late penalty against Ghana - pundits
World Cup
Last-gasp Hwang strike sends South Korea into World Cup last 16 with win over Portugal