The 2022 Formula One season began on Wednesday as Lando Norris topped the timesheets on the opening day of pre-season testing in Barcelona.
Ferrari's Charles Leclerc got off to a strong start and led for most of the day. After swapping over with Carlos Sainz at lunch in Ferrari's F1-75, they were the leading pair for most of the day. Combined they raced for 153 laps which was more than any other team.
But later in the day Norris set the pace with a time of 1:19.568, which was over half a second clear of Leclerc, on the softer C4 tyres which proved a difference maker.
Formula 1
Formula 1 cancels 2023 Chinese Grand Prix
02/12/2022 AT 12:21
Mercedes pair George Russell Lewis Hamilton finished fourth and fifth. Hamilton aborted a lap which looked more promising on the sector times.
Max Verstappen, who controversially won the championship for the first time in his career last year, did 147 laps in Red Bull's RB18 which was the most of any driver and finished up in ninth.
Red Bull, Alpine, Williams, Mercedes, AlphaTauri, Aston Martin and McLaren all completed more than 100 laps.
Haas and Alfa Romeo both had setbacks. Haas completed 43 laps while Alfa Romeo did just 32.
Zhou Guanyu, Esteban Ocon, Daniel Ricciardo, Pierre Gasly and Sergio Perez are yet to take the wheel with two more days of testing still to come.


1. Lando Norris (McLaren) 1:19.568, C4, 102 laps
2. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) 1:20.165, C3, 80 laps
3. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) 1:20.416, C3, 73 laps
4. George Russell (Mercedes) 1:20.784, C3, 77 laps
5. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 1:20.929, C3, 50 laps
6. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin) 1:21.276, C3, 52 laps
7. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) 1:21.638, C3, 120 laps
8. Fernando Alonso (Alpine) 1:21.746, C3, 146 laps
9. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) 1:22.246, C2, 147 laps
10. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) 1:22.572, C3, 23 laps
11. Alex Albon (Williams) 1:22.760, C3, 66 laps
12. Mick Schumacher (Haas) 1:22.962, C3, 23 laps
13. lance Stroll (Aston Martin) 1:23.327, C3, 67 laps
14. Nicholas Latifi (Williams) 1:23.379, C3, 66 laps
15. Nikita Mazepin (Haas) 1:24.505, C2, 20 laps
16. Robert Kubica (Alfa Romeo) 1:25.909, C3, 9 laps
Formula 1
Binotto resigns as Ferrari boss - 'It is right to take this step at this time'
29/11/2022 AT 09:31
Formula 1
Chinese GP to be cancelled next year due to Covid-19 policies - report
22/11/2022 AT 15:31