From 125 to 70, things are getting serious as the players enter the second of the three FedEx Cup play-offs at the BMW Championship.
Rory McIlroy will be eager to find some form after missing the cut in the opening event at TPC Southwind last week.
The same comment applies to Scottie Scheffler who began the play-offs in No. 1 spot, but dropped to second after failing to get through to the weekend.
BMW Championship
Cantlay defends BMW Championship, Scheffler top seed for Tour Championship
21/08/2022 AT 22:29
Will Zalatoris now occupies the top spot following his win at the FedEx St Jude Championship. There is no knowing what he can achieve now he has broken his duck.
There will be no Cameron Smith in the field, with the Open champion withdrawing to nurse a hip problem.
Wilmington Country Club plays host to the event, and Patrick Cantlay is the defending champion - winning when the BMW Championship was hosted at Caves Valley - which set him on a path to FedEx Cup glory and the huge prize that came with it.
While established names such as Scheffler, McIlroy, Tony Finau and Justin Thomas are in the hunt, PGA Tour rookies Cameron Young, Davis Riley, Taylor Pendrith, Mito Pereira, and Sahith Theegala are making waves.
The BMW Championship is one of the oldest events on the PGA Tour rota, and has taken place on a host of courses.
This is the first time at Wilmington Country Club, and it will head to Olympia Fields Country Club in 2023.
The 70 teeing it up this week know exactly what is required, as the top 30 in the field advance to the Tour Championship at East Lake. For the remaining 40, it is time to put the feet up ahead of the new PGA Tour season.

Course: Wilmington Country Club

The track in Delaware dates back to its origins as a nine-hole course in 1901. Additional land was purchased to stretch the course out to 18 holes and it has been tinkered with down the years.
There are two courses, the North and the South - with the latter championship course designed by Robert Trent Jones Sr in 1960. It was reworked by Andrew Green in 2021 as part of a $7 million renovation including a new clubhouse, after a tornado hit in 2020 and it stretches out to over 7,500 yards.
It is a typical US parkland track, with big greens, water, pristine fairways and white bunkers that although look daunting are no test for the professional.
Members will not recognise the routing, as hospitality stands and viewing areas will see it tweaked for the BMW Championship. The final hole, finishing in front of the glorious clubhouse, will remain.
How deep the rough is will likely play a part on scoring, as if it’s cut low the course may not have much defence.
Prize Money: $15m, with the winner’s share being $2.7m.
Format: 72-hole strokeplay.
Course records: N/A as it is the first event to take place at Wilmington Country Club
TV Coverage: The BMW Championship is live on Sky Sports in the UK.


  • 2021: Patrick Cantlay
  • 2020: Jon Rahm
  • 2019: Justin Thomas
  • 2018: Keegan Bradley
  • 2017: Marc Leishman
  • 2016: Dustin Johnson
  • 2015: Jason Day
  • 2014: Billy Horschel
  • 2013: Zach Johnson
  • 2012: Rory McIlroy
  • 2011: Justin Rose
  • 2010: Dustin Johnson
  • 2009: Tiger Woods
  • 2008: Camillo Villegas
  • 2007: Tiger Woods

Tee Times (Local):

  • 09:10am Harold Varner III
  • 09:10am Alex Noren
  • 09:20am Chris Kirk
  • 09:20am Taylor Moore
  • 09:30am Troy Merritt
  • 09:30am Chez Reavie
  • 09:40am Mackenzie Hughes
  • 09:40am Si Woo Kim
  • 09:50am Kurt Kitayama
  • 09:50am Sebastián Muñoz
  • 10am Keegan Bradley
  • 10am Adam Scott
  • 10:10am Trey Mullinax
  • 10:10am Mito Pereira
  • 10:25am Seamus Power
  • 10:25am Shane Lowry
  • 10:35am Maverick McNealy
  • 10:35am K.H. Lee
  • 10:45am Kevin Kisner
  • 10:45am Corey Conners
  • 10:55am J.T. Poston
  • 10:55m Joohyung Kim
  • 11:05am Collin Morikawa
  • 11:05am Tom Hoge
  • 11:15am Max Homa
  • 11:15am Jordan Spieth
  • 11:25am Xander Schauffele
  • 11:25am Patrick Cantlay
  • 11:40am Sam Burns
  • 11:40am Tony Finau
  • 11:50am Justin Thomas
  • 11:50am Sungjae Im
  • 12pm Taylor Pendrith
  • 12pm Marc Leishman
  • 12:10pm Matt Kuchar
  • 12:10pm Brendan Steele
  • 12:20pm Adam Hadwin
  • 12:20pm Christiaan Bezuidenhout
  • 12:30pm Lucas Herbert
  • 12:30pm Emiliano Grillo
  • 12:40pm Tyrrell Hatton
  • 12:40pm Cam Davis
  • 12:55pm Scott Stallings
  • 12:55pm Andrew Putnam
  • 1:05pm Luke List
  • 1:05pm Russell Henley
  • 1:15pm Keith Mitchell
  • 1:15pm Cameron Tringale
  • 1:25pm Lucas Glover
  • 1:25pm Denny McCarthy
  • 1:35pm J.J. Spaun
  • 1:35pm Aaron Wise
  • 1:45pm Davis Riley
  • 1:45pm Sahith Theegala
  • 1:55pm Billy Horschel
  • 1:55pm Brian Harman
  • 2:10pm Viktor Hovland
  • 2:10pm Joaquin Niemann
  • 2:20pm Jon Rahm
  • 2:20pm Hideki Matsuyama
  • 2:30pm Sepp Straka
  • 2:30pm Rory McIlroy
  • 2:40pm Will Zalatoris
  • 2:40pm Scottie Scheffler
  • 2:50pm Matt Fitzpatrick
  • 2:50pm Cameron Young
  • 3pm Alex Smalley
  • 3pm Wyndham Clark
BMW Championship
Morikawa hits two balls in the water, four-putts a green, takes 10 on one hole
21/08/2022 AT 21:00
BMW Championship
'He doesn't seem too happy' - McIlroy throws fan's remote-controlled ball into the water
21/08/2022 AT 15:05