The Hart Trophy is given annually to the NHL's most valuable player, and the
Lindsay Award goes to the most outstanding player as voted by the NHL Players'

Other awards passed out Monday were the Norris Trophy (best defenseman), given
to the Nashville Predators' Roman Josi; the Vezina Trophy (top goalie), won by
the Winnipeg Jets' Connor Hellebuyck; and the Calder Trophy (rookie of the
year), which went to the Colorado Avalanche's Cale Makar.

Ice Hockey
Marleau rejoining Sharks for 23rd NHL season
13/10/2020 AT 18:54

Draisaitl, 24, led the NHL with 110 points and 67 assists, and he finished
fourth with 43 goals. He ranked first in points per game (1.55) and power-play
points (44). He led all forwards in ice time per game (22:37), tied with
Boston Bruins forward David Pastrnak for first place in game-winning goals
(10) and was second in even-strength points (66) and power-play goals (16).

He also had 33 multipoint games, registering at least one point in 56 of 71

"It's a huge honor to me," the center said. "All I can say is a huge thank you
to my family, friends, obviously the Edmonton Oilers, the fans, the city of
Edmonton. Without those people, this would never happen. This goes to them a
little bit as well."

He became the first German-born player to win the Hart Trophy and the fourth
member of the Oilers to earn the award. Hall of Fame legend Wayne Gretzky won
it eight straight seasons (1979-80 to 1986-87).

Colorado's Nathan MacKinnon and the New York Rangers' Artemi Panarin were the
other finalists for the Hart award, which was voted on by the Professional
Hockey Writers Association.

MacKinnon and Panarin also were finalists for the Lindsay Award.

Josi became the first Predators player to win the Norris Trophy.

"Hockey is the ultimate team sport," Josi said. "I want to thank my teammates.
Can't do anything without a great team. This award belongs to you guys as much
as it belongs to me."

In 69 games during the regular season, the 30-year-old Czech posted career
highs in goals (16), assists (49) and points (65). He ranked third in the NHL
in average ice time per game (25:47) and led the Predators with 108 blocked
shots and a plus-22 rating.

The Washington Capitals' John Carlson and the Tampa Bay Lightning's Victor
Hedman were the other finalists.

Hellebuyck led the NHL in shutouts (six), shots faced (1,796) and saves
(1,656) and finished second in victories (31) on his way to the first Vezina
Trophy in franchise history. He went 31-21-5 with a 2.57 goals-against average
and a .922 save percentage, and he allowed two or fewer goals in 32 games.

"This is a huge moment in my life," said Hellebuyck, a 27-year-old Michigan
native. "I'd like to congratulate my teammates. Without a good team, none of
this is possible. I'd also like to congratulate my coach (Paul Maurice) and
the organization for believing in me the entire way."

The Bruins' Tuukka Rask and the Lightning's Andrei Vasilevskiy were the other

Draisaitl was joined by Panarin, Pastrnak, Josi, Carlson and Hellebuyck on the
2019-20 NHL First All-Star Team. It marked the first time all six members of
the team made their debuts on the team in the same year since the All-Star
Team selection began in 1930-31.

Makar, a 21-year-old Calgary native, became the first player in
Avalanche/Quebec Nordiques history to win the rookie of the year honor.

"I'm extremely honored and humbled to accept this Calder Trophy," Makar said.
"I can't give enough thanks to each and every one of my Avalanche teammates.
Honestly, I owe them a ton of credit for my success this season, and it's a
pleasure to compete with those guys."

He played in 57 games and led rookie defensemen in goals (12) and power-play
goals (four) and finished second among rookies in assists (38), points (50)
and power-play points (19). He produced a plus-12 rating and netted four
game-winning goals.

Makar beat out Vancouver Canucks defenseman Quinn Hughes and Chicago
Blackhawks forward Dominik Kubalik for the honor.

The awards were voted on before the Stanley Cup playoffs began and originally
were scheduled to be handed out June 18 in Las Vegas. The ceremony was
postponed because of the coronavirus pandemic.

--Field Level Media

Ice Hockey
COVID and ice hockey: outbreaks chill Nordic national pastime
09/10/2020 AT 15:27
Ice Hockey
Results from the first round of NHL Draft
07/10/2020 AT 04:20