Getty Images

Stuart Bingham defeats Mark King as Shaun Murphy and Ding Junhui withdraw

Bingham defeats King as Murphy and Ding withdraw

09/03/2018 at 18:42Updated 09/03/2018 at 23:41

Stuart Bingham defeated Mark King 4-2 to make it to the third round of the Gibraltar Open on Friday as the top two seeds both withdrew.

Shaun Murphy announced his withdrawal on Thursday due to a “neck/back” injury but Ding has just been marked as a no show.

Thor Chuan Leong received a bye from Ding but lost 4-1 to Yu Delu in the second round whilst amateur Jamie Cope, who was given the bye via Murphy, was drawn against Rory McLeod, whom he shocked 4-2.

Eurosport Player One Year Pass for just £29.99

The way the tournament is organised means the top half of the draw played their first three rounds on Friday, with the bottom half coming in on Saturday. From the Saturday games Ali Carter and Yan Bingtao were two of the biggest names to withdraw.

Bingham and King raced to comfortable wins, beating Andrew Higginson 4-1 and Nigel Bonds 4-0 respectively to set up their second round meeting.

Amateur Andy Hicks caused a shock when he knocked the 22nd seed Robert Milkins 4-2 whilst Kurt Maflin received a walkover against Stephen Maguire.

There were comfortable wins for Barry Hawkins, Liang Wenbo and Kyren Wilson but Anthony McGill had to battle to beat Paul S Davison 4-3.

Talented youngster Oliver Lines and Elliot Slessor played out an entertaining match with the former triumphing 4-2. The 1997 world champion Ken Doherty beat Andreas Ploner 4-2.

And Doherty beat Maflin in the second round with a 4-0 win. Matthew Stevens was knocked out 4-2 by Scottish Open finalist Cao Yupeng whilst Noppon Saengkham continued his good form with a 4-1 win over James Cahill.

However all eyes were on the Bingham-King match as two of the biggest names left in the competition. The pair exchanged the opening frames before Bingham rolled in a 140 break and followed that up with a 79.

King fought back well with a quick-fire 71 to make it 3-2 but Bingham held his nerve to win the sixth frame and the match to take it 4-2.

Hawkins was stunned 4-1 by Sam Craigie in one of the shocks of the second round.

Bingham eased past Saengkham in the third round 4-2 whilst Doherty's match against Dominic Dale went to the final frame and the final black as the former world champion progressed 4-3.

Cope's run came to an end as he was beaten by Yu Delu and McGill whitewashed Lines.

Selt caused a late shock as he upset Liang 4-1.



Stuart Bingham 4-0 Andrew Higginson

Mark King 4-1 Nigel Bond

Noppon Saengkham 4-1 Barry Pinches

James Cahill 4-1 Eden Sharav

Ken Doherty 4-2 Andreas Ploner

Kurt Maflin w/o Stephen Maguire

Tom Ford 4-1 Li Yuan

Dominic Dale 4-1 Chris Totten

Yu Delu 4-1 Louis Heathcote

Thor Chuan Leong w/o Ding Junhui

Jamie Cope w/o Shaun Murphy

Rory McLeod 4-3 Ian Preece

Matthew Stevens 4-3 Mike Dunn

Cao Yupeng 4-3 Yuan Sijun

Sam Craigie 4-2 Joe O'Connor

Barry Hawkins 4-0 Chris Wakelin

Allan Taylor 4-2 Andy Symons

Niu Zhuang 4-2 Mike Finn

Jak Jones 4-2 Hamza Akbar

Lee Walker 4-3 Gerard Greene

Anthony McGill 4-3 Paul S Davison

David Grace 4-1 Ben Woollaston

Li Hang 4-1 Matthew Glasby

Oliver Lines 4-2 Elliot Slessor

Robbie Williams 4-3 Jamie Jones

Liang Wenbo 4-1 Alex Borg M

itchell Mann 4-3 Patrick Whelan

Matthew Selt w/o Darren Morgan

John Astley 4-0 Jimmy Robertson

Andy Hicks 4-2 Robert Milkins

Kyren Wilson 4-1 Mark Joyce

Daniel Wells 4-2 Ian Burns


Stuart Bingham 4-2 Mark King

Noppon Saengkham 4-1 James Cahill

Ken Doherty 4-0 Kurt Maflin

Dominic Dale 4-2 Tom Ford

Yu Delu 4-1 Thor Chuan Leong

Cao Yupeng 4-2 Matthew Stevens

Sam Craigie 4-1 Barry Hawkins

Lee Walker 4-0 Jak Jones

Jamie Cope 4-2 Rory McLeod

Allan Taylor 4-3 Niu Zhuang

Anthony McGill 4-2 David Grace

Oliver Lines 4-0 Li Hang

Liang Wenbo 4-0 Robbie Williams

Matthew Selt 4-2 Mitchell Mann

Kyren Wilson 4-1 Daniel Wells

Andy Hicks 4-2 John Astley


Stuart Bingham 4-2 Noppon Saengkham

Yu Delu 4-2 Jamie Cope

Cao Yupeng 4-2 Sam Craigie

Ken Doherty 4-3 Dominic Dale

Lee Walker 4-1 Allan Taylor

Anthony McGill 4-0 Oliver Lines