Murphy retains Paul Hunter title

Share this with
Share this article

SNOOKER Shaun Murphy 2009

Image credit: Imago

15/08/2009 at 20:46

Shaun Murphy successfully defended his Paul Hunter Classic title in Furth, Germany by beating Jimmy White 4-0 in the final.

The former world champion showed no ill-effects from his recent case of swine flu to romp through the busy 180-man tournament that included 33 main tour professionals.

Two mini-breaks in the opening frame of the final set him on his way before efforts of 81, 88 and 74 wrapped up the victory.


Right on Cue: Jin Long

13/08/2009 AT 11:35

His toughest match came in the semi-finals when he edged out Rory McLeod 3-2 on the black in the final frame. McLeod was in hot form going into the match having whitewashed Ryan Day and Mark Selby in the previous two rounds.

White continued his good recent form by beating Stephen Maguire, Michael Holt, Mark Davis and Joe Swail on his way to the final.

Also notable was the performance of Belgian sensation Luca Brecel. The 14-year-old beat Joe Perry in the last 64 before losing to Jimmy Michie in his next match.

As well as winning the event ,Murphy also had the highest break of the tournament - a 139 effort - while Swail saw a 147 effort end on the final red.


Jimmy White 0-4 Shaun Murphy


Shaun Murphy 3-2 Rory McLeod

Joe Swail 1-3 Jimmy White


Shaun Murphy 3-1 Ken Doherty

Ryan Day 0-3 Rory McLeod

Joe Swail 3-1 Jimmy Michie

Mark Davis 1-3 Jimmy White

Last 16:

Shaun Murphy 3-1 Alan McManus

Ken Doherty 3-1 Daniel Wells

Mark Selby 0-3 Rory McLeod

Stuart Bingham 1-3 Ryan Day

Joe Swail 3-1 Itaro Santos

Marcus Campbell 0-3 Jimmy Michie

Mark Davis 3-1 Andrew Higginson

Jimmy White 3-1 Michael Holt

Last 32:

Shaun Murphy 3-1 Rod Lawler

Fergal O'Brien 2-3 Alan McManus

Barry Hawkins 1-3 Ken Doherty

Daniel Wells 3-0 Mark King

Mark Selby 3-0 Igor Figueiredo

Rory McLeod 3-2 Ricky Walden

Stuart Bingham 3-2 Michael Judge

Barry Pinches 1-3 Ryan Day

Maurice Le Duc 2-3 Itaro Santos

Dominic Dale 0-3 Joe Swail

Dave Harold 1-3 Marcus Campbell

Jimmy Michie 3-0 Luca Brecel

Judd Trump 1-3 Mark Davis

Andrew Higginson 3-1 Jamie Cope

Michael Holt 3-2 Gerard Greene

Jimmy White 3-0 Stephen Maguire

Last 64:

Shaun Murphy 3-0 Michael Betzinger

Rod Lawler 3-0 Roman Dietzel

Fergal O'Brien 3-0 Volker Lawetzki

Alan McManus 3-0 Sebastian Kan

Barry Hawkins 3-1 Frans Van Eekelen

Jack Lisowski 2-3 Ken Doherty

Daniel Wells 3-1 Misja Van Vonderen

Mark King 3-1 Krzysztof Wrobel

Mark Selby 3-0 Christian Schrick

Tom Ford 2-3 Igor Figueiredo

Rory McLeod 3-0 Jurgen Van Roy

Ricky Walden 3-0 Eddy Kindermans

Stuart Bingham 3-0 Kevin Lammermann

Mohammed Naeem 0-3 Michael Judge

Barry Pinches 3-1 John Higgins

Ryan Day 3-0 Lasse Munstermann

Warren Smith 1-3 Maurice Le Duc

Matthew Selt 0-3 Itaro Santos

Dominic Dale 3-0 Sascha Lippe

Joe Swail 3-0 Rene Van Rijsbergen

Dave Harold 3-0 Joris Maas

Marcus Campbell 1-3 Kuldesh Johal

Jimmy Michie 3-0 Alain Vandersteen

Joe Perry 0-3 Luca Brecel

Judd Trump 3-2 Chris McBreen

Mark Davis 3-0 Robert Drahn

Andrew Higginson 3-2 Tony Drago

Jamie Cope 3-0 Jurian Heusdens

Michael Holt 3-0 Patrick Dauscher

Gerard Greene 3-1 Lee Richardson

Jimmy White 3-0 Jorn Hannes-Huhn

Stephen Maguire 3-0 Mike Henson


On this week: Birth of a legend

10/08/2009 AT 11:10
World Championship

What is Ronnie O'Sullivan's favourite Crucible 147 of all time?

10/07/2020 AT 13:14
Related Topics
Share this with
Share this article