Scene Setter

The Players Championship follows on from the Welsh Open, as the players move back to Milton Keynes at the Marshall Arena.

Players Championship
O'Sullivan thrashes Lisowski to reach semi-finals

Judd Trump defeated Yan BIngtao in the 2020 final and he will be back to defend his title in 2021.

The world number one will be joined by Ronnie O'Sullivan, Australian Neil Robertson, and Mark Selby in the 16-man draw which is based on the top 16 players in the one-year ranking list.

World number one Trump will be the favourite to take the prize as he tops the year-round rankings with 450,000 points, prior to the Welsh Open.

The event kicks off on February 22, with 16 players fighting for a share of the £385,000 prize fund. A cheque for £125,000 will be picked up by the winner on February 28.

What is the format?

Players have had to get used to different formats in recent weeks, with the Championship League and Shoot Out to occupy their thoughts, before returning to the Welsh Open and its standard draw system.

There are 16 players for Round 1, before moving onto the quarter-finals and semi-finals. All of these matches will be decided on a best-of-11 basis, before the final is decided on a best-of-19 final.

How to watch the event

The 2021 Players Championship is live on ITV.

We will cover the event with report and reaction on and the Eurosport app.


Monday February 22

  • Judd Trump 5-6 Stuart Bingham
  • Kyren Wilson 6-1 Ryan Day

Tuesday February 23

  • Neil Robertson 6-1 Lu Ning
  • Jack Lisowski 6-3 Martin Gould
  • Ronnie O'Sullivan 6-5 Ding Junhui
  • Zhou Yuelong 5-6 Barry Hawkins

Wednesday February 24

  • Mark Selby 6-4 Mark Williams
  • Jordan Brown 0-6 John Higgins
  • Stuart Bingham 2-6 Barry Hawkins

Thursday February 25

  • Neil Robertson 1-3 Kyren Wilson
  • Jack Lisowski v Ronnie O'Sullivan (7pm)

Friday February 26

  • John Higgins v Mark Selby (2pm)

More matches to be scheduled

Prize Money

  • Winner: £125,000
  • Runner-up: £50,000
  • Semi-final: £30,000
  • Quarter-final: £15,000
  • Last 16: £10,000
  • Highest break: £10,000

Previous Winners

The Players Championship has been running since 2011, with eight different winners since its inception.

  • 2020 Judd Trump
  • 2019 Ronnie O'Sullivan
  • 2018 Ronnie O'Sullivan
  • 2017 Judd Trump
  • 2016 Mark Allen
  • 2015 Joe Perry
  • 2014 Barry Hawkins
  • 2013 Ding Junhui
  • 2012 Stephen Lee
  • 2011 Shaun Murphy
Players Championship
Brilliant Wilson beats Robertson in Players Championship
Players Championship
'He can be as good as Ronnie' – Hawkins warns O'Sullivan ahead of Jackpot clash