Scene setter

The Masters is always one of the main highlights of the snooker season but the invitational event, and component part of the famed Triple Crown, will look a little bit different in 2021.
World Snooker Tour had already had to abandon plans to allow fans in to watch the action due to increasing coronavirus restrictions in England - and now it has been confirmed that the event will not be held at Alexandra Palace as first planned.
British Open
'I was so upset I couldn’t eat anything' – O'Sullivan conqueror reveals sad reason for weight loss
27/09/2022 AT 08:45
That means the Masters will be moved to snooker's new home at Milton Keynes, as the UK Championship was too.
Ronnie O'Sullivan has made no secret of his feelings about Milton Keynes but, after missing the Masters in 2019, will be present as he aims to add an eighth crown. However, Judd Trump has been forced to miss out after testing positive for coronavirus.

What is the format?

It's a simple proposition: the 16 best players in the world playing in a straight knock-out format on one table. There's a day session at 1pm and an evening session at 7pm each day from Sunday, January 10 to Sunday, January 17.
It's best of 11 all the way up to the final, which will be best of 19.

What are the top 10 greatest moments in Masters history?

Ahead of its 47th staging, Desmond Kane picks out 10 of the most iconic moments in the history of the elite tournament involving the world's top 16, including Ronnie O'Sullivan whitewashing Ricky Walden in less than an hour, Steve Davis reminding the world of his enduring greatness, the Hurricane Higgins roaring to victory and much more.

Full Masters schedule

First round
Sunday January 10
  • Kyren Wilson 6-2 Gary Wilson (1pm)
  • Joe Perry 2-6 David Gilbert (7pm)
Monday January 11
  • Stuart Bingham 6-4 Thepchaiya Un-Nooh (1pm)
  • Shaun Murphy 6-4 Mark Williams (7pm)
Tuesday January 12
  • Neil Robertson 5-6 Yan Bingtao (1pm)
  • Mark Selby 3-6 Stephen Maguire (7pm)
Wednesday January 13
  • Ronnie O'Sullivan 6-5 Ding Junhui (1pm)
  • John Higgins 6-5 Mark Allen (7pm)
Thursday January 14
  • David Gilbert 6-5 Kyren Wilson (1pm)
  • Stuart Bingham 6-3 Shaun Murphy (7pm)
Friday January 15
  • Stephen Maguire 5-6 Yan Bingtao (1pm)
  • John Higgins 6-3 Ronnie O'Sullivan (7pm)
Saturday January 16
  • Stuart Bingham 5-6 Yan Bingtao (1pm)
  • David Gilbert 4-6 John Higgins (7pm)
Sunday January 17
  • John Higgins 8-10 Yan Bingtao (1pm, 7pm)
British Open
'Rubbish' - Hendry laments 'worst' O'Sullivan performance in a 'few years'
26/09/2022 AT 22:24
British Open
Ursenbacher shocks under-par O'Sullivan at British Open, Trump beats Si
26/09/2022 AT 20:04