Martin Vaculik won his second Speedway Grand Prix of 2022 with victory at the season-finale in Torun.
Vaculik was on top form all night, winning his opening three heats before dominating the final by beating Bartosz Zmarzlik, Leon Madsen and Maciej Janowski.
The Slovakian chose Gate 2 for the final and got the perfect start by beating Zmarzlik to Turn 1. As hard as the newly crowned champion tried, he couldn’t do anything about Vaculik.
Speedway GP
Speedway Grand Prix 2023 schedule revealed as World Cup returns
07/11/2022 AT 12:04
Maciej Janowski and Leon Madsen battled for third, with the latter coming out on top to take his fourth podium of the season.
A disappointing night for Patryk Dudek, who came into the event in the bronze medal position, saw him drop to seventh in the championship with Janowski’s fourth place vaulting him up the order into third in the championship behind Madsen.
Fredrik Lindgren, Robert Lambert and Dan Bewley did enough to hold onto a top-six place in the championship which means they are guaranteed to be in next year’s Speedway GP field.

‘Three abreast!’ – more ‘superb speedway’ in Heat 4

Andzejs Lebedevs was the best of the non-permanent riders with his first semi-final appearance of 2022.
The Latvian won a thrilling Heat 4, after going three-wide for the lead with Janowski and Jason Doyle, and also took victory in Heat 15.
There was confusion in Heat 16 when Lindgren was originally excluded from jumping the start, before being called back with Tai Woffinden being excluded instead for his movement before the tape went up. It likely cost the Briton a place in the semi-finals.

‘It’s an amazing feeling’ – Vaculik ‘very happy’ to win 2022 finale


1 - Bartosz Zmarzlik (Poland) 166pts (champion)
2 - Leon Madsen (Denmark) 133pts
3 - Maciej Janowski (Poland) 106pts
4 - Fredrik Lindgren (Sweden) 103pts
5 - Robert Lambert (United Kingdom) 103pts
6 - Dan Bewley (United Kingdom) 102pts
7 - Patryk Dudek (Poland) 102pts
8 - Tai Woffinden (United Kingdom) 93pts
9 - Martin Vaculik (Slovakia) 91pts
10 - Jason Doyle (Australia) 83pts
11 - Mikkel Michelsen (Denmark) 82pts
12 - Jack Holder (Australia) 67pts
13 - Max Fricke (Australia) 52pts
14 - Anders Thomsen (Denmark) 51pts
15 - Pawel Przedpelski (Poland) 29pts
16 - Andzejs Lebedevs (Latvia) 26pts
- - -
Stream the very best speedway action live and ad-free on discovery+ with live race action also on Eurosport 2.
Speedway GP
2023 Speedway GP line-up confirmed as wild cards and substitutes list revealed
04/10/2022 AT 10:50
Speedway GP
Top 5 - Watch the best overtakes from the dramatic Speedway GP in Torun
02/10/2022 AT 19:24