Great Britain's Luke Greenbank has won bronze in the men's 200m backstroke on his Olympic Games debut.
Russia Olympic Committee’s Evgeny Rylov took gold in an Olympic record time of 1:53.27 while USA's Ryan Murphy took silver (1:54.15).
Greenbank's time of 1:54.72 secured him bronze position ahead of USA's Bryce Mefford down in fourth (1:55.49).
Tokyo 2020
Marathon Swimming - Men's 10km - Tokyo 2020 - Olympic Highlights
05/08/2021 AT 04:19
"It's just unbelievable," Greenbank told Eurosport's Greg Rutherford after the race.
"It hasn't sunk it and I don't think it will for a while, but it's a dream come true and I'm so happy.
I'm over the moon. This has given me a massive amount of confidence. This whole year has been absolutely amazing and I can't wait to get back in and try and improve on it.
Lizzie Simmonds said on commentary: "Yes Luke Greenbank... what a swim! He's been looking so good in the rounds of this event.
"We knew he had tough competition with Rylov and Murphy and he's managed to deliver and I'm sure he will be delighted to be on the podium.
"That was a stunning swim. First Games for Greenbank and he has not disappointed. A big race from Rylov with that Olympic record."
Greenbank started well and was in second after the opening 50m, +0.21 seconds behind Rylov.
But Murphy overtook the 23-year-old Brit, who dropped down into third at 100m as Rylov maintained his convincing lead.
The trio all battled for first at the 150m mark, but it evolved into a clear two-man race for gold in the final 50m, with Greenbank doing enough to get on the podium.
Duncan Scott went up a gear to move from fifth to second in order to secure a silver medal in the 200m individual medley final. He finished just 0.28 seconds behind winner Wang Shun.
Molly Renshaw and Abbie Wood failed to medal in the 200m breaststroke final. Renshaw came sixth in a time of 2:22.65 while Wood was seventh in 2:23.72.
South Africa's Tatjana Schoenmaker was overjoyed when she realised she broke the world record to win gold with a time of 2:18.95.
USA's Lilly King took silver (2:19.92) and compatriot Annie Lazor (2:20.84) finished in bronze position.
Anna Hopkin finished seventh in the 100m freestyle final in a time of 52.83, but was not far off bronze in a very close race.
Australia's Emma McKeon broke the Olympic record to win gold with a time of 51.96. Siobhan Bernadette Haughey got silver (52.27) and Cate Campbell bronze (52.52).
- - -
Watch every unmissable moment live from Tokyo 2020 across Eurosport, Eurosport app and discovery+. Download the Eurosport app for iOS and Android now.
Tokyo 2020
Marathon Swimming M Marathon Swimming
04/08/2021 AT 22:45
Tokyo 2020
Marathon Swimming W Marathon Swimming
03/08/2021 AT 22:34