On the return of the Formula Renault 3.5 at Circuit Bugatti Le Mans, the category track record was broken in the collective tests. With a lap of 1:22.321, Tom Dillmann (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) broke the previous record set by Fabio Carbone in 2008. The French driver was followed by the quickest among the rookies on Friday, Egor Orudzhev (Arden Motorsport) and Dean Stoneman (DAMS). Championship leader, Oliver Rowland (Fortec Motorsports) posted the quickest time in the morning session.
Starting from pole position, Oliver Rowland resisted the challenge from rival Matthieu Vaxiviere (Lotus) to triumph for the seventh time this year. The Britons success puts him equal with Carlos Sainz for most wins in a season. Second across the finish line, Matthieu Vaxiviere lost his runner-up result following a penalty for not respecting the track limitations. Egor Orudzhev and Tom Dillmann joined the victor on the podium.
Egor Orudzhev tehn won for the second time this season in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series. Starting from fifth place on the grid, the SMP Racing protégé employed a better strategy to take the lead of the race before fending off the attacks of Mattiheu Vaxiviere, who needed to win to keep his title hopes alive. Poleman Tio Ellinas (Strakka Racing) completed the podium. With his eight-place result, Oliver Rowland scored the need points to clinch the driver’s title and offer the first team championship in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series to Fortec Motorsports.
Formula Renault 3.5
Nyck De Vries wins first race in season finale
19/10/2015 AT 18:15
Provisional general classification: 1. O. Rowland – 264 points, 2. M. Vaxiviere – 204, 3. D. Stoneman – 130, 4. N. de Vries– 123, 5. T. Dillmann – 114…
Formula Renault 3.5
Who will be the rookie of the year?
16/10/2015 AT 12:16
Formula Renault 3.5
Oliver Rowland and Fortec aim for the title
24/09/2015 AT 17:13