At Le Mans, Andrea Pizzitola (ART Junior Team) took the lead from Steijn Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur), but just two points separate the two who were team mates last year in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0. Nevertheless, the worst result of the season will be dropped after the finale, and the Dutchman has the advantage because he has two retirements so far this season, while the Frenchman has finished all his races in the points.
The Elite drives will have the responsibility of qualifying their cars for the Endurance race. The intermediate standings and the final Sprint race count for 50 points. In third position, David Fumanelli (Oregon Team) will hope to run the table to squeak out the title, as well as the right to participate in the rookie tests with factory Nismo team in Super GT.
Against the three challengers, outsiders Indy Dontje (ART Junior Team), Nicky Pastorelli (V8 Racing) and Luciano Bacheta (Oregon Team) will try to end the year on a high note. José Manuel Perez Aicart (Monlau end the year on a high note. José Manuel Perez Aicart (Monlau Competicion), Bas Schothorst (Zele Racing), Alan Hellmeister (Oregon Team) and Miguel Ramos (Equipe Verschuur) give it their all as well, as will former Formula 1 driver Christian Klien (Zele Racing) and former Formula Renault 3.5 Series racer Nelson Panciatici (Monlau Competition) and Meindert van Buuren (V8 Racing).
Megane Trophy
Pizzitola and Oregon Team scoop year's final titles
19/10/2015 AT 18:24
In Prestige, Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team) wants to end his title winning season with a final win before turning his attention to the 2016 24-Hours of Le Mans. The battle for second place will be a three-way tussle between Diederik Sijthoff (V8 Racing), Richard Gonda (ART Junior Team) and Niccol Nalio (Oregon Team), who are covered by just five points, but Max Braams (V8 Racing), who keeps improving will also be in the mix. Toni Forné (ART Junior Team), Jeroen Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur), Andres Mendez (Zele Racing), Adalberto Baptista (Oregon Team) and Antonio Coimbra (Equipe Verschuur) will all try to create a surprise. Christof von Grünigen (Zele Racing), Jurgen Smet (Monlau Competicion) and the legendary Jean Ragnotti (Monlau Competicion) will also take part in the final round of 2015.
Despite their title in Endurance, David Fumanelli and Dario Capitanio will now try to take the team title for the Oregon Team. In the battle opposing the Italian structure against ART Junior Team, the two will be assisted by Luciano Bacheta and Niccol Nalio against the duos of Andrea Pizzitola -Richard Gonda and Indy Donje - Toni Forné. Max Braams (V8 Racing) will hope to make the most of the situation with his new partnership with Meindert van Buuren to finish second overall in Endurance.
Endurance Race: Saturday 17 October at 16h00
Prestige Sprint Race: Sunday 18 October at 10h50
Elite Sprint Race: Sunday 18 October at 17h05
Megane Trophy
Will Fumanelli, Capitanio move closer to the title?
24/09/2015 AT 17:39
Megane Trophy
Pizzitola takes victory as Schothorst gets back on track
14/09/2015 AT 16:07