Winners of the first round of the Renault Sport Trophy, Dario Capitanio and David Fumanelli (Oregon Team) lead the Endurance classification. However, the two Italians dropped out of the sprint races, won by Diederik Sijthoff (V8 Racing) in Prestige and Steijn Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur) in Elite.
While the Oregon Team duo will try to bounce back to remain in the race for the rookie test with Nismo in Super GT and a ride in the 2016 24 Hours of Le Mans in LM P2, the two Dutchmen will aim for the double with their respective team-mates, Nicky Pastorelli (V8 Racing) and Jeroen Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur).
Against them, some teams hope to take the upper hand, beginning with the duo of Andrea Pizzitola and Richard Gonda (ART Junior Team). After looking strong for the win in Endurance, they had to settle for third place. The other Renault Sport R.S. 01 in the French squad will be another to watch: fifth in Endurance, sixth in Elite and on the podium in Prestige, Indy Dontje and Toni Forné (ART Junior Team), who will be looking to improve this time out.
Megane Trophy
Pizzitola and Oregon Team scoop year's final titles
19/10/2015 AT 18:24
Team-mates of Dario Capitanio and David Fumanelli, Luciano Bacheta and Niccol Nalio (Oregon Team) want to do better after their second position in Endurance. Just off the podium in Elite, Luciano Bacheta will race for the win, while Niccol Nalio will want to make up the ground he lost after retiring in the Prestige race.
Also keen to do this are Brazilians Alan Hellmeister and Adalberto Baptista (Oregon Team), both of whom dropped out in the Sprint races after their eighth place in Endurance. It will be the same for the Portuguese pair of Miguel Ramos and Antonio Coimbra (Equipe Verschuur), seventh in Endurance, but not classified in Sprint.
At V8 Racing, Diederik Sijthoff’s team-mates will try to imitate him, both in Elite with Roy Greets and Federico Leo and in Prestige with Stefano Costantini and Max Braams, both of whom finished just off the podium at Spa-Francorchamps.
After the tests where Zele Racing set the fastest time, the start of the season was more discreet. In the number nine car, Vittorio Ghirelli and Philippe Bourgois will be keen to do better, like the drivers of the other Renault Sport R.S. 01: Bas Schothorst and Philippe Haezebrouck. Monlau Competicion will once again put their confidence in Wolfgang Reip, who finished on the podium at Spa. In Hungary, the winner of the 2012 GT Academy will partner with David Cebrián Ariza, who finished fourth in the Renault Clio Cup España in 2013 and 2014.
For this second round, the grid for the Endurance race will be determined by the order of the “Elite” at the end of their qualifying session. They will have to start the race and score points in their category according to the intermediate classification before the driver changes.
Endurance Race: Saturday 13 June at 15:55
Megane Trophy
A three-driver finale for the chance of a lifetime
28/09/2015 AT 12:02
Megane Trophy
Will Fumanelli, Capitanio move closer to the title?
24/09/2015 AT 17:39