Elite category leader, Steijn Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur) marked his turf in posting best time of the Renault Sport Trophy collective tests at the Hungaroring. The Dutch driver set the benchmark with a lap of 1:41.810 to lead from Alan Hellmeister (Oregon Team) and Federico Leo (V8 Racing).
His compatriot Max Braams (V8 Racing) was quickest in “Prestige” ahead of Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team) and Richard Gonda (ART Junior Team). In the morning session, Steijn Schothorst and Richard Gonda led the way in their respective categories.
The Monlau Competicion duo of Wolfgang Reip and David Cebrian won the Endurance race of the Renault Sport Trophy on Saturday. Starting from third position, the Belgian winner of the GT Academy in 2012 moved up to second place before handing over to his new team mate, who got the better of the Renault Sport R.S. 01 driven by Steijn and Jeroen Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur #10).
Megane Trophy
Pizzitola and Oregon Team scoop year's final titles
19/10/2015 AT 18:24
The pair finished ahead of the Spa winners and leaders in Endurance, David Fumanelli and Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team #8), as well as the team of Andrea Pizzitola – Gonda (ART Junior Team #2).
Steijn Schothorst finished fifth but remains in the lead in the intermediate classification and increased his lead in the Elite championship.
On Sunday, the meeting in Hungary concluded with wins for Gonda (ART Junior Team) and Steijn Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur) in the Renault Sport Trophy.
In the morning, Gonda (ART Junior Team) dominated the Prestige Sprint race against Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team) and Diederik Sijthoff (V8 Racing). The podium result sees him maintain the lead in the category’s general classification.
In the afternoon, Elite Sprint laurels went to Steijn Schothorst, who ran his point tally to 71 out of a possible 75. The Dutchman was followed to the line by 2013 Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior champion, Roy Geerts (V8 Racing) and Vittorio Ghirelli (Zele Racing) at the end of a race where all six teams placed one of their Renault Sport R.S. 01s in the top six.
Provisional general classification Elite: 1. S. Schothorst – 75 points, 2. W. Reip – 45, 3. A. Pizzitola – 43, 4. V. Ghirelli – 35, 5. R. Geerts – 24…
Provisional general classification Prestige: 1. D. Sijthoff – 52 points, 2. R. Gonda – 50, 3. D. Capitanio – 33, 4. M. Braams – 32, 5. T. Forné – 30…
Provisional general classification Endurance: 1. Fumanelli/Capitanio – 43 points, 2. Reip – 37, 3. Bacheta/Nalio – 30, 4. Pizzitola/Gonda – 30, 5. Cebrian – 25…
Megane Trophy
A three-driver finale for the chance of a lifetime
28/09/2015 AT 12:02
Megane Trophy
Will Fumanelli, Capitanio move closer to the title?
24/09/2015 AT 17:39