Last Sunday saw Steijn Schothorst's (Equipe Verschuur) perfect run come to an end as well as Andrea Pizzitola (ART Junior Team) get back in the title fight. Both will try to pull away in Germany, where 50 points will be up for grabs. The Elite drivers will take the start for the Endurance race. Nevertheless, Vittorio Ghirelli (Zele Racing) and David Fumanelli (Oregon Team) want to stay in contention, as does Indy Dontje (ART Junior Team), who is now among the top five following his podium result last weekend. In who is now among the top five following his podium result last weekend. In what is an extremely competitive field, Nicky Pastorelli (V8 Racing) will also want to build on his top-three finish to now worry Roy Geerts (V8 Racing) and Luciano Bacheta (Oregon Team), who failed to score at Silverstone. Finally, Bas Schothorst (Zele Racing), Federico Leo (V8 Racing), Alan Hellmeister (Oregon Team) and Miguel Ramos (Equipe Verschuur) will try to make dramatic comebacks to keep their hopes alive. Monlau Competicion will put its trust in Italian driver Michela Cerruti.
In Prestige, 20 points cover the top six. Diederik Sijthoff (V8 Racing) has a slim one point lead in the championship from Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team), who is in search of his maiden triumph, and who is just two digits ahead of two-time race winner, Niccol Nalio (Oregon Team). Following his double podium tally, Toni Forné (ART Junior Team) is 10 points adrift. The only driver to finish in the top five in each race this season, but still without a podium result as yet, Max Braams (V8 Racing) is another 4 points back. These five will battle for the win, while also keeping an eye on Richard Gonda (ART Junior Team), who wants to bounce back following a disappointing run at Silverstone. Stefano Costantini (V8 Racing), Philippe Bourgois and Andres Mendez (Zele Racing), Jeroen Schothorst and
Antonio Coimbra (Equipe Verschuur), as well as Adalberto Baptista (Oregon Team) will also be worth watching because they will all need to do something quite special to stay in contention.
Megane Trophy
Pizzitola and Oregon Team scoop year's final titles
19/10/2015 AT 18:24
In Endurance, the latest podium of the David Fumanelli - Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team) duo allowed them to stay in the lead of the championship, but the pairing of Luciano Bacheta - Niccol Nalio (Oregon Team) is now close behind thanks to their Silverstone success. Against the Oregon Team tandems, those of Art Junior Team composed of Indy Dontje - Toni Forné and Richard Gonda - Andrea Pizzitola (ART Junior Team) will try to make up lost ground.
The other teams, such as Max Braams - Roy Geerts (V8 Racing), Nicky
Pastorelli - Diederik Sijthoff (V8 Racing), Bas Schothorst - Andres Mendez (Zele Racing) and Alan Hellmeister - Adalberto Baptista (Oregon Team) will work twice as hard to be among the top-three after having obtained their best results.
And following their retirements in Northamptonshire, Steijn Schothorst - Jeroen Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur) and Vittorio Ghirelli - Philippe Bourgois (Zele Racing) will have big ambitions, as will Antonio Coimbra (Equipe Verschuur) and Stefano Costantini (V8 Racing).
Endurance Race: Saturday 12 September at 16:00
Sprint Race 1: Sunday 13 September at 11:45
Sprint Race 2: Sunday 13 September at 16:00
Megane Trophy
A three-driver finale for the chance of a lifetime
28/09/2015 AT 12:02
Megane Trophy
Will Fumanelli, Capitanio move closer to the title?
24/09/2015 AT 17:39