The Dutch McGregor by Equipe Verschuur driver took the flag from Kevin Gilardoni (Oregon Team), who led for most of the race, with 2013 champion Mirko Bortolotti (Oregon Team) occupying the last place on the podium.
This third race of the weekend was added to the Barcelona schedule following the cancellation of race two at the Circuit Paul Ricard because of bad weather. The grid was decided in France, with Bortolotti on pole from Gilardoni, Erik Janis (Gravity Charouz) and Max Braams (Las Moras by Equipe Verschuur).
Sixth on the grid, Verschuur made the quickest of starts but was outbraked at the first turn by Gilardoni, who rounded it in the lead from the Dutchman, Janis and Bortolotti. The new champion found a way past the Gravity Charouz driver on lap two and then chased down Verschuur before making an unsuccessful attempt to pass him on lap five.
Megane Trophy
Pizzitola and Oregon Team scoop year's final titles
19/10/2015 AT 18:24
Gilardoni made the most of their tussle to extend his lead, though Verschuur was back in touch by the midway stage and finally got on to the leader’s tail on lap ten. The Italian was still being harassed by his closest pursuer when he went in for fuel on lap 15, his Dutch rival following suit on the next lap.
Seemingly on course for a maiden win in the category, Gilardoni then made a braking error three laps out, allowing Verschuur to dive past and snatch the win from him, with Bortolotti finishing third.
Janis was fourth, followed by Braams, Jelle Beelen (Equipe Verschuur) and Vladimir Lunkin (Oregon Team). Jean-Charles Miginiac was the highest-ranked gentleman driver in eighth, while Oliver Freymuth (AKF Motorsport) and Margot Laffite (Oregon Team) also got in among the points.
Megane Trophy
A three-driver finale for the chance of a lifetime
28/09/2015 AT 12:02
Megane Trophy
Will Fumanelli, Capitanio move closer to the title?
24/09/2015 AT 17:39