Remembering when… WTCC history was made at Monza (again)

Remembering when… WTCC history was made at Monza (again)

02/09/2017 at 12:00Updated 02/09/2017 at 12:10

Eurosport Player : Watch this event live

Watch on Eurosport

After staging the inaugural FIA World Touring Car Championship race in 1987, Monza, venue for this weekend’s Italian Formula One Grand Prix, was the setting for the series’ revival in 2005.

Dirk Müller (BMW) and James Thompson (Alfa Romeo) shared the wins as the new-era WTCC got underway in style.

Monza hosted the WTCC for seven more seasons and local fans savoured a home win courtesy of Gabriele Tarquini in 2008.

The WTCC dropped off the calendar for 2014 but returned to the famous parkland track back in April following a three-year absence with Tom Chilton (Citroën) and Thed Björk (Volvo Polestar) each taking a win.

Did you know?Yvan Muller is the most successful WTCC driver at Monza with seven wins.