All you need to know about WTCR Race of Netherlands

All you need to know about WTCR Race of Netherlands

15/05/2019 at 06:00Updated 15/05/2019 at 06:06

The WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO heads to Zandvoort in The Netherlands this weekend. Here’s a summary of just some of what’s in store in the dunes.

The most northerly venue on the calendar, Circuit Zandvoort sweeps through the sand dunes of the North Sea coastal town west of Amsterdam and welcomed 110,000 fans to the first WTCR Race of Netherlands last May. Turning 70 in 2018 and once home to the Dutch Grand Prix, Zandvoort’s motorsport roots go back to 1939 when a street race was organised. It was the catalyst for the mayor to invest in a permanent track, with construction beginning following the Second World War. Honda bosses liked what they saw and commissioned its designer, John Hugenholtz, to pen the famous Japanese circuit of Suzuka too.

Venue:Circuit Zandvoort
Date:17-19 May
Location:Burgemeester van Alphenstraat 108, 2041 KP Zandvoort, Netherlands
Length:4.307 kilometres
Time zone:GMT +2 hours
Race 1 distance:12 laps (51.684 kilometres)
Race 2 distance:12 laps (51.684 kilometres)
Race 3 distance:15 laps (64.605 kilometres)
WTCR qualifying lap record:Rob Huff (Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR)
1m43.945s (149.1kph), 20/05/18
WTCR race lap record:Yann Ehrlacher (Honda Civic TCR)
1m45.901s (146.4kph), 20/05/18

Provisional key timings:
Friday 17 May:
Free Practice 1: 12h45-13h30
Free Practice 2: 15h20-15h50
Saturday 18 May:
First Qualifying: 08h05-08h35
Race 1 (12 laps): 1435
Sunday 19 May:
Second Qualifying Q1: 08h00
Second Qualifying Q2: 08h25
Second Qualifying Q3: 08h40 (first car starts)
Race 2 (12 laps): 13h15
Race 3 (15 laps): 16h35

Who's on the #WTCR2019SUPERGRID
1BRC Hyundai N Squadra CorseGabriele Tarquini (ITA)Hyundai i30 N TCR
5BRC Hyundai N Squadra CorseNorbert Michelisz (HUN)Hyundai i30 N TCR
8BRC Hyundai N LUKOIL Racing TeamAugusto Farfus (BRA)Hyundai i30 N TCR
9KCMGAttila Tassi (HUN)Honda Civic Type R TCR
10Comtoyou Team Audi SportNiels Langeveld (NLD)Audi RS 3 LMS
11Cyan Racing Lynk & CoThed Björk (SWE)Lynk & Co 03 TCR
12SLR VW MotorsportRob Huff (GBR)Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
14SLR VolkswagenJohan Kristoffersson (SWE)Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
18KCMGTiago Monteiro (PRT)Honda Civic Type R TCR
21Comtoyou DHL Team CUPRA RacingAurélien Panis (FRA)CUPRA TCR
22Comtoyou Team Audi SportFrédéric Vervisch (BEL)Audi RS 3 LMS
25SLR VW MotorsportMehdi Bennani (MAR)Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
29ALL-INKL.COM Münnich MotorsportNéstor Girolami (ARG)Honda Civic Type R TCR
31Team MulsanneKevin Ceccon (ITA)Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR
33SLR VolkswagenBenjamin Leuchter (DEU)Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
37PWR RacingDaniel Haglöf (SWE)CUPRA TCR
50Comtoyou DHL Team CUPRA RacingTom Coronel (NLD)CUPRA TCR
52Leopard Racing Team Audi SportGordon Shedden (GBR)Audi RS 3 LMS
55Team MulsanneMa Qinghua (CHN)Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR
68Cyan Performance Lynk & CoYann Ehrlacher (FRA)Lynk & Co 03 TCR
69Leopard Racing Team Audi SportJean-Karl Vernay (FRA)Audi RS 3 LMS
86ALL-INKL.COM Münnich MotorsportEsteban Guerrieri (ARG)Honda Civic Type R TCR
88BRC Hyundai N LUKOIL Racing TeamNicky Catsburg (NLD)Hyundai i30 N TCR
96PWR RacingMikel Azcona (ESP)CUPRA TCR
100Cyan Racing Lynk & CoYvan Muller (FRA)Lynk & Co 03 TCR
111Cyan Performance Lynk & CoAndy Priaulx (GBR)Lynk & Co 03 TCR


Weekend in short
*Audi-powered Vernay joins Ehrlacher and Comte as a Zandvoort winner
*Ehrlacher is TAG Heuer Most Valuable Driver and new championship leader
*Home hero Max Verstappen appears on Race 2 grid with WTCR drivers
*Biggest Zandvoort weekend attendance since track hosted Dutch Grand Prix

Weekend report
Jean-Karl Vernay completed a memorable weekend for the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO with first in Race 3 at Zandvoort where 110,000 fans – and Dutch Formula One star Max Verstappen – attended. Vernay’s Audi Sport Leopard Lukoil Team made an overnight engine change following the Frenchman’s P5 in Race 1. But the Frenchman, who was penalised by starting Race 2 from the back, repaid his team’s hard work with the DHL pole for Race 3, which he turned into victory. After Yann Ehrlacher took the Race 1 laurels, it was his fellow Frenchman Aurélien Comte’s turn to savour the limelight with his maiden victory in Race 2 to become the eighth different winner of 2018 following a brilliant drive. Comte, in a DG PEUGEOT 308TCR, was second in Race 1 ahead of Rob Huff and Gordon Shedden, but went one better in Race 2 by beating James Thompson off the line in the reverse-grid counter. His victory means five customer racing brands have won in WTCR OSCARO. Huff beat Frédéric Vervisch to P2 in Race 3, while Ehrlacher took over the championship lead from uncle Yvan Muller, one of several Hyundai drivers to struggle following Balance of Performance changes.

Winning quote:“It was a great day, I was really motivated after what happened yesterday,” said Vernay. “Changing engines is not always nice, we knew we would have one race down and I was the only driver until this morning to score points in every race. But I said to my crew ‘don’t worry, we’re going to make pole and we’re going to win’ and we made it and this is pretty cool. The team did a great effort all night to rebuild the car, to have a good car ready for qualifying. After that I just did my job, I was pretty confident, the balance of the car was good and I just tried to push and drive well.”

Results reminder
DHL Pole Position Race 1:Rob Huff (GBR) Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
Race 1 winner:Yann Ehrlacher (FRA) Honda Civic Type R TCR
Race 1 fastest lap:Yann Ehrlacher (FRA) Honda Civic Type R TCR
DHL Pole Position Race 2:James Thompson (GBR) Honda Civic Type R TCR
Race 2 winner:Aurélien Comte (FRA) PEUGEOT 308TCR
Race 2 fastest lap:Jean-Karl Vernay (FRA) Audi RS 3 LMS
DHL Pole Position Race 3:Jean-Karl Vernay (FRA) Audi RS 3 LMS
Race 3 winner: Jean-Karl Vernay (FRA) Audi RS 3 LMS
Race 3 fastest lap:Jean-Karl Vernay (FRA) Audi RS 3 LMS
TAG Heuer Best Lap Trophy:Yann Ehrlacher (FRA) Honda Civic Type R TCR
TAG Heuer Most Valuable Driver:Yann Ehrlacher (FRA) Honda Civic Type R TCR