The World Touring Car Championship will have a new name and new rules when it hits the race tracks in 2018 live on Eurosport

With a manufacturers’ title no longer up for grabs – drivers and teams only will be rewarded – there has been a change of status from world championship to world cup. But while the name has changed to WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO, the action will be no less frenetic.

August WTCR date move was for the fans, says Hungaroring head Gyulay

In fact, with a full grid of 26 star drivers, two qualifying sessions and three races per weekend, the on-track spectacle will be even more dramatic than before.

Using the TCR technical regulations – a cheaper and more accessible concept embraced by manufacturers including Audi, Honda, Hyundai, Peugeot, SEAT and Volkswagen – the series will be contested over 10 weekends from April to November when the legendary Macau street circuit brings the curtain down on the 2018 season.

And although there won’t be manufacturer teams under cost-cutting measures, several top drivers from the WTCC and other international touring car series will be taking part. They include Mehdi Bennani, Thed Björk, Tom Coronel, Esteban Guerrieri, Rob Huff, Norbert Michelisz, Tiago Monteiro, Gordon Shedden, Gabriele Tarquini and Jean-Karl Vernay.

All races will be available LIVE and on demand on Eurosport Player

You are jumping the four wheels: why the King (of WTCR) loves the Ring
WTCR top for the top: #3 Attila Tassi
24/01/2021 AT 05:00