Mikel Azcona is the favourite to be crowned King of WTCR for 2022 – and not just because he tops the provisional standings by 60 points heading into the season-deciding WTCR Race of Saudi Arabia weekend.
Never in the history of the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup has the driver who led the standings starting the final event of the year failed to secure the title as the following proves:
2018: Gabriele Tarquni arrived in Macau 39 points ahead of Yvan Muller and claimed title gold in his BRC Racing Team Hyundai.
Why WTCR ace Monteiro can still get better
2019: Norbert Michelisz was nine points in front of Esteban Guerrieri prior to the Malaysia finale and came out on top after the epic Sepang showdown for the Hyundai-powered BRC squad.
2020: Yann Ehrlacher started the WTCR Race of Aragón decider with an advantage of 26 points over Esteban Guerrieri and wasn’t beaten in the title chase.
2021: Ehrlacher left the penultimate event in Italy 36 points clear of Frédéric Vervisch and maintained his advantage in Sochi to make it back-to-back WTCR titles.
The post No lifting off November: Why WTCR history favours Azcona in title chase appeared first on FIA WTCR | World Touring Car Cup.
King of WTCR Azcona enjoys a special homecoming
Coronel saves his best to last in WTCR
03/12/2022 AT 05:09