Getty Images

WTCC media vote Monteiro their driver of the year

WTCC media vote Monteiro their driver of the year

20/12/2017 at 06:00Updated 20/12/2017 at 09:36

Tiago Monteiro has been voted the driver of the year for 2017 by FIA World Touring Car Championship media.

Eurosport Player : Watch this event live

Watch on Eurosport

The Portuguese was on course to capture his maiden WTCC crown with two wins, five podiums and 200 points from the opening 12 races only to suffer serious injury in a high-speed testing crash in September.

Not fit enough to return to action, the Castrol Honda World Touring Car Team driver was helpless in preventing his title advantage from being eradicated and he placed eighth in the final standings.

But Monteiro’s performances prior to this accident struck a chord with a panel of WTCC journalists representing 18 countries who voted him ahead of title runner-up Norbert Michelisz and world champion Thed Björk. Monteiro received 10 votes, Michelisz seven and Björk five. Esteban Guerrieri and Nicky Catsburg were also recognised for their achievements in 2017.

Justifying his selection of Monteiro as WTCC driver of the year for 2017,’s Markus Lüttgens said: “He was the most consistent driver at the first six events. Without his test crash he would have been world champion.”