Drivers racing without the financial support of a customer racing department in the WTCR − FIA World Touring Car Cup are being further rewarded from 2020.

The WTCR Trophy from promoter Eurosport Events recognises the achievements of drivers that don’t receive manufacturer backing. As a commercial award, the WTCR Trophy will not carry an FIA title and will be administered by Eurosport Events.

Although WTCR is a category for teams rather than manufacturers, some drivers enjoy the support of car brands. For season three of WTCR, drivers that don’t will be eligible for the WTCR Trophy, which will revive the spirit of the WTCC Trophy awarded to independent racers in the FIA World Touring Car Championship from 2005-2017.

As well as chasing their own points and title, WTCR Trophy drivers will benefit from additional media exposure and promotional opportunities including dedicated TV interviews and social media posts. A section of will be devoted to the WTCR Trophy, while drivers will take part in their own podium celebration and carry a WTCR Trophy logo on their car and overalls.

How points are scored:
Top five finishers in each race: 10-8-5-3-1
Fastest qualifying lap: 1 point
Fastest lap in each race: 1 point

Eligible drivers:
7Jack Young (GBR) Vuković Motorsport Renault Mégane RS TCR
16Gilles Magnus (BEL) Comtoyou Racing Audi RS 3 LMS
17Nathanaël Berthon (FRA) Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport Audi RS 3 LMS
31Tom Coronel (NED) Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport Audi RS 3 LMS
55Bence Boldizs (HUN) Zengő Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición
69Jean-Karl Vernay (FRA) Team Mulsanne Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR by Romeo Ferrari
99Gábor Kismarty-Lechner (HUN) Zengő Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición

Zengo boss leads the celebrations as Hungarian WTCR team delivers in Germany

The post WTCR how it works: #3 WTCR Trophy appeared first on FIA WTCR | World Touring Car Cup.

Magnus is still the top WTCR Rookie Driver despite Nordschleife crash
Ehrlacher adds TAG Heuer Best Lap Trophy to WTCR Race of Germany win