Alexey Lutsenko won the stage 4 time trial of the Criterium du Dauphine to cut Lukas Postlberger’s overall lead to one second at the half-way point.
The Kazakh rider was quickest with a time of 0:21:36 over the 16.4km course, eight seconds ahead of his Astana-Premier Tech team-mate Ion Izagirre and nine in front of Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck-QuickStep).
As it turned out, Postlberger’s ninth placed finish was just enough to hold on to the yellow jersey, but only by one second over the stage 4 winner. The Austrian is coming under increased pressure from not just Lutsenko, but Asgreen and Izagirre, who are nine seconds further back.
‘I will definitely miss him’ - Froome pays tribute to ‘good friend’ Porte ahead of his retirement
03/09/2022 AT 12:00
The Ineos Grenadiers riders of Richie Porte (14 seconds) and Britain’s Geraint Thomas (24 seconds) are still well in contention, too, with four stages remaining following a fourth day which shook up the standings.
The event is typically seen as a warm-up for the Tour de France, which begins on June 26, and continues tomorrow (Thursday) with a flat 175.4km stage running from Saint-Chamond to Saint-Vallier.

Stage 4 results

1 Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana-Premier Tech 0:21:36
2 Ion Izagirre (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech 0:21:44
3 Kasper Asgreen (Den) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:21:44
4 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:21:48
5 Ilan Van Wilder (Bel) Team DSM 0:21:49
6 Richie Porte (Aus) Ineos Grenadiers 0:21:51
7 Jonas Vingegaard (Den) Jumbo-Visma 0:21:53
8 Brandon McNulty (USA) UAE Team Emirates 0:21:57
9 Lukas Pöstlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:21:59
10 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers 0:21:59

General Classification after Stage 4

1 Lukas Pöstlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 12:57:07
2 Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana-Premier Tech +0:00:01
3 Kasper Asgreen (Den) Deceuninck-QuickStep +0:00:09
4 Ion Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech +0:00:09
5 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Bora-Hansgrohe +0:00:13
6 Ilan Van Wilder (Bel) Team DSM +0:00:14
7 Richie Porte (Aus) Ineos Grenadiers +0:00:16
8 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers +0:00:24
9 Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe +0:00:32
10 Ben O'Connor (Aus) AG2R Citroën Team +0:00:34
Vuelta a España
Vine doubles up in mist as Roglic glues to Evenepoel
27/08/2022 AT 15:51
Bernal makes remarkable return at Tour of Denmark as Kooij wins Stage 1
16/08/2022 AT 16:16