Paris - Nice

Garcia Cortina powers to surprise Stage 3 win

Share this with
Share this article

Bahrain - McLaren Spanish rider Ivan Garcia Cortina (L) celebrates as he crosses the finish line at the end of the 212,5 km 3rd stage of the 78th Paris - Nice cycling race stage between Chalette-sur-Loing and La Chatre, on March 10, 2020.

Image credit: Getty Images

10/03/2020 at 16:25 | Updated 10/03/2020 at 23:48

Ivan Garcia Cortina (Bahrain–McLaren) powered to a surprise Stage 3 win at Paris-Nice, a 212.5km ride from Chalette-sur-Loing to La Châtre, as Maximilian Schachmann (Bora–Hansgrohe) retained his advantage in the GC.

Schachmann finished safely in the bunch to retain his lead in the GC, holding a 13-second advantage over Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT Pro Cycling), ensuring the German champion will start the Stage 4, 15km time trial around Saint-Amand-Montrond last.

Giro d'Italia

Giro Classics: ‘I had good legs but I knew it was going to be difficult’ - Quintana on 2019 ITT


Highlights: Ivan Garcia Cortina surprises stacked field to win Stage 3


Stage 3 of the Race to the Sun began with an ambitious solo attack from Tom Devriendt (Circus Wanty Gobert) after just 4km - with his advantage over the peloton stretching to 09:20 at one point – but he was reeled in and distanced as the stage reached its conclusion

Crosswinds again split the peloton, so it was a reduced group left to contest the bunch sprint, and it was Garcia Cortina who emerged victorious on the uphill finish to La Chatre, holding off Peter Sagan (Bora–Hansgrohe) and Andrea Pasqualon (Circus–Wanty Gobert) to claim a second stage win of his career after success at the of California in 2019.

"It’s a surprise,” said García Cortina after the race.

"There was a bit of chaos in the end. I found my place, a bit of space to go, and I had to go full, full gas to the end and I could take the victory. It’s weather I like. I suffered in the race, but I think everyone suffered. In the end I had good legs, so I do like these conditions."

García Cortina emerges victorious from chaotic Stage 3 finish


A stage that had been a slow burner into a head wind for most of the day exploded into life when Niki Terpstra (Total-Direct Energie) and Bryan Coquard (B&B Hotels-Vital Concept) went down with 6km to go before Hugo Hofstetter (Israel Start-Up Nation) clipped the wheel of Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal) sending Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-QuickStep) into the barriers inside the last 200 metres.

‘That is very bad news’ - Niki Terpstra and Bryan Coquard caught up in nasty crash


It was 24-year-old García Cortina who emerged from the ensuing chaos to hit the front before holding off a collection of elite sprinters that included Sagan, Elia Viviani (Cofidis) and Caleb Ewan (Lotto–Soudal). Bennett would pick himself up to struggle over the line some minutes later clutching his wrist, and is a doubt to make the start line on Wednesday.


  • 1 Ivan Garcia Cortina (Spa) Bahrain McLaren 5:49:55
  • 2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
  • 3 Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Circus-Wanty Gobert
  • 4 Cees Bol (Ned) Team Sunweb
  • 5 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic
  • 6 Rudy Barbier (Fra) Israel Start-Up Nation
  • 7 Anthony Turgis (Fra) Total Direct Energie
  • 8 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) NTT Pro Cycling
  • 9 Mads Schmidt Würtz (Den) Israel Start-Up Nation
  • 10 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R la Mondiale


  • 1 Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe 13:12:01
  • 2 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) NTT Pro Cycling 0:00:13
  • 3 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:24
  • 4 Mads Schmidt Würtz (Den) Israel Start-Up Nation 0:00:25
  • 5 Sergio Andres Higuita Garcia (Col) EF Pro Cycling 0:00:26
  • 6 Nils Politt (Ger) Israel Start-Up Nation 0:00:28
  • 7 Krists Neilands (Lat) Israel Start-Up Nation 0:00:28
  • 8 Felix Grossschartner (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:31
  • 9 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:31
  • 10 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:36

Quintana wins thrilling final stage of Paris-Nice

14/03/2020 AT 12:42
Paris - Nice

Schachmann extends GC lead as Kragh Andersen wins ITT

11/03/2020 AT 15:39
Related Topics
CyclingParis - NicePeter SaganNairo QuintanaMore
Share this with
Share this article

Latest News


Elynor Backstedt breaks tibia


Latest Videos


Wiggins on sacrifices he made for gold


Most popular


Wiggins: Having the Olympics where I grew up was bizarre but so special

View more