Getty Images

Bahrain-McLaren win first GC title as Cavendish acts as lead-out man for Bauhaus

Bahrain-McLaren win first GC title as Cavendish acts as lead-out man for Bauhaus

08/02/2020 at 16:54Updated 08/02/2020 at 18:25

Phil Bauhaus produced a dramatic sprint finish victory to win the Saudi Tour on Saturday, thanks in part to a terrific lead-out from team-mate Mark Cavendish.

Bauhaus began the stage two seconds behind Nacer Bouhanni in the overall standings and aware that a stage win would see him beat the Frenchman to the title.

Video - Watch barnstorming Bauhaus take Suadi Tour title in sprint finish


Aside from a puncture for Cavendish with 65km remaining, the stage went seamlessly for the side, with a breakaway being hauled in and a lead-out train being set up.

Cavendish is typically used to being the final man in that train, but there was a change in role for the Manxman in Riyadh, with him working for Bauhaus with a GC win in the balance.

It paid off in style for the big German, who held of Bouhanni to take the stage and the overall victory.

Video - Bauhaus - To have Cavendish as a lead-out man means a lot to me


“Mark just did awesome on the last 400m and I could start the sprint from the first position [in the race] and that was the key today,” Bauhaus said.

" It really means a lot to me, he’s a former world champion, he’s one of the best sprinters in the world and I really appreciate that he worked for me."

The result was left in some doubt as Bouhanni sat up and gesticulated about a bad racing line in the run-in, but a visit to the commissaires office yielded no results for the Frenchman.

Final general classification

1. Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Bahrain-McLaren, in 17-53-38
2. Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Arkéa-Samsic, at two seconds
3. Rui Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates, at 13s
4. Youcef Reguigui (Alg) Terengganu Inc. TSG, at 22s
5. Heinrich Haussler (Aus) Bahrain-McLaren, at 23s
6. Carlos Barbero (Esp) NTT, at 24s
7. Sergei Chernetski (Rus) Gazprom-RusVelo, at 25s
8. Andreas Kron (Den) Riwal Readynez, at same time
9. Geoffrey Soupe (Fra) Total Direct Energie, at 26s
10. August Jensen (Nor) Riwal Readynez, at same time