Astana, the team of last year's winner Alberto Contador (pictured) of Spain, have been barred from entering by organisers the Amaury Sport Organisation because of their implication in doping scandals over the last two years.
"Astana, because they had already faulted, will not be in the Tour de France," said Tour director Christian Prudhomme.
"I want to make clear that this decision is aimed at the team, not at Alberto Contador, but he happens to wear the Astana jersey."
Tour de France
New race offers women Champs Elysees finish
01/02/2014 AT 13:00
Astana spokesman Philippe Maertens said that ASO's decision was not logical.
"Where is the logic? There are other teams who have doping records. Rabobank and Cofidis have faulted in last year's Tour", he said.
"We changed the team structure, we've done everything we could. The Tour de France is going to lose its value. Maybe Cadel Evans will win it this year but people are going to say 'yes he won but Levi Leipheimer was not there, Andreas Kloeden and Alberto Contador were not there."
The International Cycling Union (UCI) and ASO have been at odds since the Tour de France organisers refused to be part of the ProTour.
Under UCI regulations, all ProTour teams have a guaranteed place in the top races in the cycling calendar.
Three ProContinental teams - Slipstream, Barloworld and Agritubel - complete the 20-team field.
Agritubel is the French champion Christophe Moreau's team and Barloworld include Colombian Mauricio Soler, who won last year's polka-dot jersey for the best climber.
Teams: AG2r-La Mondiale, Bouygues Telecom, Cofidis, Credit Agricole, Française des Jeux, Agritubel, Caisse d'Epargne, Euskaltel, Saunier Duval, Gerolsteiner, Milram, Quick Step, Silence-Lotto, Lampre, Liquigas, Team High Road, Slipstream, Team CSC, Rabobank, Barloworld.
Tour de France
Armstrong expecting Tour ban
11/04/2009 AT 07:35
Tour de France
Astana boss hopes rivalry will settle
23/01/2009 AT 15:55