With 20km to go, Belgian Lotto-Soudal rider Tim Wellens went on the attack, and brought a group of big-name riders with him.

Watch cycling live on Eurosport and the Eurosport Player

Vuelta a España
Why Bennett was denied Stage 9 win and relegated for dangerous cycling

Vicenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo) was part of the leading peloton, joined by young rider Remco Evenpoel of Deceuninck-Quick-Step at 15km to go.

Redefining Impossible: Chris Froome and a daring dream of double glory

At 10km, a compact bunch of Team INEOS, Team Sunweb, Alpecin-Fenix and Deceuninck-Quick-Step were in contention for the win.

As the finishing line drew ever closer there was no rider willing or able pull out by themselves.

Dutchman Jakobsen was able to sprint out from the pack to take the win, with Cofidis' Elia Viviana in second and third place went to CCC Team's Matteo Trentin.

General Classification

1 - Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Deceuninck-QuickStep 4:52:59

2 - Arnaud Demare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ

3 - Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe

4 - Simone Consonni (Ita) UAE Team Emirates

5 - Jasper De Buyst (Bel) Lotto Soudal

6 - Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb

7 - Edward Theuns (Bel) Trek-Segafredo

8 - Jon Aberasturi Izaga (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA

9 - Christophe Laporte (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits

10 - Neilson Powless (USA) Team Jumbo-Visma

Van der Poel: I’m in the Algarve to prepare for the Classics

Giro d'Italia
Wiggins: Stage 19 mess illustrative of a divided peloton
24/10/2020 AT 11:26
Giro d'Italia
'Someone will pay' – Giro director Vegni fumes at rider revolt
23/10/2020 AT 12:50