Formula 1
Season 2020

Back-to-back British GPs as F1 releases new 2020 calendar

Share this with
Share this article

Mercedes' British driver Lewis Hamilton (C) waves the Union flag as he celebrates in parc ferme after victory in the British Formula One Grand Prix at the Silverstone motor racing circuit in Silverstone, central England, on July 14, 2019

Image credit: Getty Images

02/06/2020 at 08:10 | Updated 02/06/2020 at 09:40

Formula 1 has confirmed a revised calendar for the 2020 season which will now begin in early July at Austria.

The coronavirus has caused a number of cancellations to the F1 calendar but the organisation was keen to stress that they wanted to get a 2020 season in some form.

The provisional calendar includes Great Britain and Austria hosting two races each.

Season 2020

'We can make it very difficult' - Max Verstappen on Mercedes

01/07/2020 AT 10:07

On Tuesday morning they tweeted a revised calendar which will begin with back-to-back weekends in Austria.

The following weekend will go to Hungary before a break and then another back-to-back, this time in Great Britain.

The season will then continue in Spain, Belgium and Italy. More races will be announced at a later date.

Lewis Hamilton & Sebastian Vettel

Image credit: Getty Images

Eight races are the minimum requirement needed to complete a world championship season, although F1 says 'further races will be announced in the coming weeks'.

READ MORE: Hamilton slams F1 for staying silent on George Floyd death

The 2020 season was supposed to get underway on March 15 in Australia. The Grand Prix was cancelled just hours before the drivers began their first practice session due to the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic.

The new plan for the season kicks off on the same day that Austria was supposed to play host originally.

Provisional F1 2020 calendar

July 5: Spielberg, Austria

July 12: Spielberg, Austria

July 19: Budapest Hungary

August 2: Silverstone, Great Britain

August 9: Silverstone, Great Britain

August 16: Barcelona, Spain

August 30: Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium

September 6: Monza, Italy

Season 2020

Monaco Grand Prix cancelled, Dutch and Spanish races postponed

19/03/2020 AT 14:04
Season 2020

F1 cancels August break, 21 day shutdown in March-April

18/03/2020 AT 16:42
Related Topics
Formula 1Season 2020
Share this with
Share this article