After increasing his lead in the general classification last time out, Nogués (Rangoni Corse) could become the first driver in the history of the category to win the championship twice.
Winner at the Paul Ricard Circuit, the 2012 champion comes to Jerez with the chance to make history with a podium finish on Saturday.
Three drivers can still prevent the Spaniard from triumphing at home.
Eurocup Clio
Nogues clinches title in Jerez
22/10/2014 AT 08:40
Eric Trémoulet (Vic’Team) is the best placed, but the Frenchman will have to score his first ever win in the European category to keep his chances alive.
Massimiliano Pedalà (Composit Motorsport) and Mikel Azcona (PCRSport) will too have to score a lot of points right from the opening race to hope to deny the leader from taking the title.
For the other drivers, the title is out of reach. Once again on the podium in France, Alex Morgan (Rangoni Corse) moved past 2013 Eurocup Clio champion, Josh Files (Team Pyro), who is back after missing the round at Circuit Paul Ricard.
The British duo will have to pay close attention to their pursuers, which include Ivan Pulić (Lema Racing Team), third last time out, Facundo Della Motta (Pujolaracing), René Steenmetz (Pujolaracing) and Salvatore Arcarese (Rangoni Corse).
Among the outsiders for this explosive finale are the Composit Motorsport entries; Nikolay Gryazin and Ronnie Marchetti, Antonio Martinez and Pablo Martin from SMC Junior Motorsport, as well as Olivier Jouffret (Vic’Team) and Rafael Villanueva (Milan Compétition).
Eurocup Clio
Azcona grabs maiden win, Nogues extends lead
30/09/2014 AT 12:03
Eurocup Clio
High stakes in return to competition in France
26/09/2014 AT 05:05