The FIA has appointed Yokohama Official Tyre Supplier and Panta Official Fuel Supplier of the all-new FIA World Touring Car Cup (WTCR).

Replacing the FIA World Touring Car Championship from 2018, WTCR will welcome top drivers from around the globe to battle it out over a planned 10-event schedule at venues including the legendary Nürburgring Nordschleife in Germany, Suzuka in Japan and the iconic Circuito da Guia street track in Macau.

Yokohama and Panta have been awarded two-year agreements by motorsport’s world governing body to take in the 2018 and 2019 WTCR seasons.

Founded in 1917, Japanese manufacturer Yokohama has a long history in touring car racing and was official tyre supplier to the WTCC for more than a decade. It also supplies tyres to single-seater championships and rally teams.

Panta also brings a wealth of motorsport experience to the WTCR. The official fuel of the FIA World Rally Championship and, until recently, the WTCC, the Italian company also supplies a number of major single-seater series and karting categories as well as motorcycle championships around the world. Like Yokohama it will carry over its expertise from the WTCC to WTCR.

Run to the existing TCR technical regulations under a two-year licensing agreement between the FIA, promoter Eurosport Events, and WSC, owner of the TCR concept and trademark, the inaugural WTCR season begins at the semi-permanent Circuit Moulay El Hassan in Marrakech, Morocco from 7-8 April, and draws to a close in Macau from 15-18 November.

Vernay up for more “super-cool” WTCR action
Follow WTCR’s Ehrlacher, the Goodyear #FollowTheLeader
Track time: WTCR Race of Germany