12 months after the maiden public demonstration of the Renault Sport R.S. 01 in Andalusia, the competitors of the Renault Sport Trophy were present at Circuito de Jerez for the collective tests of the final meeting of the 2015 season. Dutchman Indy Dontje (ART Junior Team) clocked the best time of the day in 1:41.905 to lead from Steijn Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur), quickest in the morning session, and Andrea Pizzitola (ART Junior Team). In the Prestige category, Niccolò Nalio (Oregon Team) set best time ahead of Christof von Grünigen (Zele Racing) and Richard Gonda (ART Junior Team).
Winners at Le Mans, the #2 ART Junior Team crew did it again in Jerez in the Endurance race. Starting fifth, the duo of Andrea Pizzitola and Richard Gonda quickly moved to the front to go on for the victory ahead of category champions David Fumanelli and Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team #8), who collected their sixth podium from six races. Luciano Bacheta and Niccolo Nalio (Oregon Team #6) had to cope with both the conditions and a drive-through penalty before coming home in third place.
The last crowns of season one of the Renault Sport Trophy were awarded to Andrea Pizzitola and the Oregon Team. While his team mate Indy Dontje won the Elite Sprint race, the French driver won the title despite an incident at the start of the race and a penalty that regulated him to third place behind ex-F1 driver Christian Klien (Zele Racing). Andrea Pizzitola won the chance of a lifetime: the opportunity to demonstrate his skills during the selection tests with the factory Nismo team in Super GT. The Endurance and Prestige champion, Dario Capitanio ended his victorious campaign with his third consecutive win in Prestige Sprint ahead of Christof von Grünigen (Zele Racing) and Richard Gonda. The Oregon Team took the team title.
Megane Trophy
A three-driver finale for the chance of a lifetime
28/09/2015 AT 12:02
Provisional general classification Elite: 1. A. Pizzitola – 140 points, 2. S. Schothorst – 138, 3. D. Fumanelli – 103, 4. I. Dontje – 96, 5. L. Bacheta – 62…
Provisional general classification Prestige: 1. D. Capitanio – 162 points, 2. R. Gonda – 123, 3. D. Sijthoff – 109, 4. N. Nalio – 103, 5. M. Braams – 101…
Provisional general classification Endurance: 1. Fumanelli/Capitanio – 115 points, 2. Pizzitola/Gonda – 95, 3. Bacheta/Nalio – 72, 4. Braams – 57, 5. Geerts – 49…
Megane Trophy
Will Fumanelli, Capitanio move closer to the title?
24/09/2015 AT 17:39
Megane Trophy
Pizzitola takes victory as Schothorst gets back on track
14/09/2015 AT 16:07